Pratt competes in second annual College Home Run Derby
Pratt competes in second annual College Home Run Derby
Friday, July 8, 2011


OMAHA, Neb. (July 3, 2011) – ETSU rising senior Dylan Pratt (Johnson City, Tenn.) became the second straight Buccaneer to compete at the 2nd Annual TD AMERITRADE College Home Run Derby on Saturday night at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha.

Pratt was looking to become the second straight ETSU winner of the event in just the second season of the competition, after former Buccaneer Paul Hoilman (Johnson City, Tenn.) took home the inaugural title last season. However, it was College of Charleston’s Daniel Aldrich that wowed the Omaha fans from the very beginning much like Hoilman did last year.

 Aldrich blasted seven home runs in the opening round to take a comfortable early lead. After advancing to the finals, Aldrich out-slugged Georgia Southern’s Victor Roache 4-2 in the finals. Pratt finished in third place with three home runs.

After round one, Pratt and Roache were both tied for second, five behind Aldrich. Both Aldrich and Roache have earned numerous accolades following the season as Aldrich was named National Freshman of the Year, while Roache led the nation with 30 home runs. Pratt hit one homer in the second round and was in a position to move onto the finals until Roache hit two home runs to ultimately advance to the finals.

Pratt finished the 2011 season tied for second on the squad with 15 home runs, while also ranking second on the team with 57 RBIs. Earlier this week, Pratt was named to the ABCA/Rawlings All-South Region Team as a designated hitter, joining fellow teammate Bo Reeder (Cookeville, Tenn.) who also earned a spot on the list. Pratt and Reeder were just the second and third Buccaneers to earn the honor. Former Buccaneer Caleb Moore was named to the second-team as a utility player back in 2005.

The collegiate home run hitting competition featured eight of the nation's premier power hitters facing off in an elimination-style format. Competitors were selected from a pool of eligible players that have ranked among the nation's home run leaders during the 2011 college baseball season.

The 2011 TD AMERITRADE College Home Run Derby also featured Major League Baseball legends Frank Thomas, Paul Molitor, and Joe Carter. The event was capped off by a fireworks display.

Other players that competed in the competition included Virginia Tech sophomore Andrew Rash, Doug Shribman from Bucknell, Arizona State's Joey DeMichele, Connor Harrell from Vanderbilt and Richie Shaffer from Clemson. DeMichele and Shribman did not record any home runs during the event.

For up to the minute news and highlights regarding every Buccaneer event, stay tuned to and Twitter @ETSUAthletics.