Chesney named to NCBWA Stopper Watch List
Chesney named to NCBWA Stopper Watch List
Tuesday, February 12, 2013

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Feb. 12, 2013) – Seventy-five players have been named to the initial watch list for the ninth annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball, and junior Buccaneer right-hander Will Chesney (Knoxville, Tenn.) has been selected to the list.

Chesney – who didn’t allow an earned run in 10 of his 13 appearances – went 1-0 along with striking out seven and issuing one walk in 11.2 innings pitched in 2012. The Knoxville, Tenn. native earned the win after tossing one inning of one-hit ball versus Mercer and pitched two perfect innings at UNC Asheville.

Chesney and the Bucs open the 2013 campaign on Friday afternoon when ETSU hosts Penn State at 2:35 p.m. from Thomas Stadium.

Fans looking to purchase tickets to Friday's season opener or season tickets for the 2013 season can do so by calling (423) 439-3878, or by clicking here for online purchasing.

About the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. The initial list will be updated with a mid-season release the week of April 16, including the national saves leaders. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 5, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

From the list of finalists, the NCBWA's All-America Committee will select a winner. The ninth annual winner will be announced in Omaha on Saturday, June 15, the opening day of the College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia’s Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State’s Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas’ Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. Knebel won in 2011 with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.

For more information on the NCBWA Stopper of the Year, contact Judy Willson at the Mountain West Conference at 719-488-4052.

2013 NCBWA Stopper of the Year key dates:
Thurs., Feb. 7: Preseason Watch List
• Week of April 16: Midseason Watch List
• Wed., June 5: Stopper of the Year finalists announced
• Sat., June 15: NCBWA Stopper of the Year announced (Omaha, Neb.)

ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today!

For more information on Buccaneer baseball, visit and click on the baseball page.