Doane placed on National Pitcher of the Year Watch List
Doane placed on National Pitcher of the Year Watch List
Thursday, May 16, 2013

Buccaneer hurler one of 22 players to be placed on the prestigious list

LUBBOCK, Texas (May 15, 2013) – The latest National Pitcher of the Year Watch List was released late Wednesday night, and East Tennessee State University senior right-hander Kerry Doane (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.) was one of the 22 players to make the group.

Doane – who leads the NCAA in complete games (10) and innings pitched (113.0) – is 11-1 with a 2.15 ERA (27 ER/113.0 IP) in 13 starts this season. The Buccaneer hurler is tied for the nation’s lead in shutouts (4), while he is tied for third nationally in wins and is only one of five pitchers to have registered at least 11 victories on the campaign.  

The Buccaneer hurler has won his last eight starts and is the first Atlantic Sun pitcher to post 11 wins since former Florida Gulf Coast and current Chicago White Sox ace Chris Sale accomplished the feat back in 2011.

Doane, a two-time A-Sun Pitcher of the Week recipient in 2013, has pitched 109 of the 117.0 innings in his 13 starts this season, and has already etched his name into the ETSU record books in his first full season as a pitcher. The Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. native is tied with Jeff Andrews (1978-81) for the most shutouts recorded in a career and season, while his 10 complete games rank second in single-season history and the 11 wins are two shy of tying the season record.

"This is another tremendous honor for Kerry,” said head coach Tony Skole. I am very proud of what he has accomplished thus far, and the fact he earned his degree in four years is icing on the cake. There are many characteristics that make Kerry special. Of course, he is very talented and has the heart of a warrior, but he is an even better teammate and a great leader. He makes everyone around him better."

The A-Sun had two pitchers placed on the list as Kennesaw State’s Stephen Janas joined Doane.   

The award, sponsored by Diamond Sports, will be presented on June 29 as part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame's annual Night of Champions event in Lubbock.

"All of these guys have put together really impressive numbers," said Raymond Richardson, Pitcher of the Year Award committee chair. "As the regular season winds down, they're making huge contributions to the success of their teams."

About the National Pitcher of the Year Award

The Pitcher of the Year award, college baseball's version of the Cy Young Award which was created in 2009, is given annually to the nation's top collegiate pitcher. Previous winners are: Stanford’s Mark Appel (2012), UCLA’s Trevor Bauer (2011), Ohio State’s Alex Wimmers (2010) and San Diego State’s Stephen Strasburg (2009).


ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today!

For more information on Buccaneer baseball, visit and click on the baseball link.