Atlantic Sun Baseball Championship Field Set
ETSU and Kennesaw State kickoff the A-Sun Championship Wednesday at 10 a.m. in Ft. Myers.
ETSU and Kennesaw State kickoff the A-Sun Championship Wednesday at 10 a.m. in Ft. Myers.

Saturday, May 17, 2014

ETSU earns No. 6 seed and faces third-seed Kennesaw State Wednesday at 10 a.m.

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (May 17, 2014) – The final day of the Atlantic Sun baseball regular season came to a close on Saturday, and the seeds are now set for the 2014 Championship in Fort Myers, Fla.

Eight teams make up the double-elimination tournament, which runs from May 21-25 at FGCU’s Swanson Stadium.

ETSU, who finished 13-13 in conference play, earned the No. 6 seed and takes on third-seeded Kennesaw State in the first game of the tournament on Wednesday, May 21 at 10 a.m. The Owls won 19 of their last 20 games to end the regular season and finished 17-9 in conference play after winning their last 15 A-Sun games. Kennesaw State swept the season series from the Bucs on April 25-27 in Kennesaw, Ga., while it also features a rematch of last season’s A-Sun Championship game.  

Meanwhile, second-seeded Mercer (18-9) and seventh-seeded Stetson (13-14) make up the other two teams in ETSU’s pod. The Bears and Hatters play at 1:15 p.m. on Wednesday. Stetson took two of three from Mercer two weeks ago in Macon.

The other pod pins No. 1 seed and tournament host FGCU (19-8) against No. 8 seed North Florida (11-16), while fourth-seeded Lipscomb (17-10) and fifth-seeded Jacksonville (13-13) meet in the nightcap of session two. First pitch of the FGCU/UNF game is slated for 5 p.m. on Wednesday, while the Bisons and Dolphins end day one at 8:15 p.m. The Eagles won the season series over North Florida, while Lipscomb won two of three from JU in Nashville.

The winners of each pod will meet for the A-Sun Championship on Sunday, May 25, which will be broadcast on ESPN3. Prior to the championship, every game will be broadcast for free on A-Sun.TV, while the ETSU games can be heard on WXSM-AM 640 The Extreme Sports Monster as “Voice of the Bucs” Jay Sandos will handle the play-by-play duties.

Tickets to the 2014 Atlantic Sun Championship are now available. General admission day passes are available for $10 and tournament passes can be purchased for $35. Reserved seating day passes are available for $15 and tournament reserved seating passes are available for $55. For more information, visit, or call the FGCU ticket office at 239-590-7145.

Click here for the full championship bracket or visit for further information.

ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today!

For more information on Buccaneer baseball, visit and click on the baseball page.

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MBB UNC Greensboro 80 F
Dec 13 ETSU 79
WBB Eastern Kentucky University 49 Final
Dec 13 ETSU 64
WBB ETSU 86 Final
Dec 15 Morehead State University 77
Dec 16 Eastern Kentucky 60
WBB ETSU 48 Final
Dec 19 University of North Carolina Wilmington 61
WBB ETSU 56 Final
Dec 20 Jacksonville State University 57
MBB ETSU Richmond, Va.
Dec 22, 7:00 p.m. VCU
WBB Iona College Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 29, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
MBB ETSU Knoxville, Tenn.
Dec 31, 1:00 p.m. Tennessee
WBB ETSU Chapel Hill, N.C.
Jan 2, 2:00 p.m. University of North Carolina
MBB VMI Freedom Hall
Jan 2, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
MBB ETSU Birmingham, Ala.
Jan 5, 8:00 p.m. Samford
MBB Mercer Freedom Hall
Jan 8, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Greenville, S.C.
Jan 10, 2:00 p.m. Furman University
MBB Chattanooga Freedom Hall
Jan 10, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Spartanburg, S.C.
Jan 12, 11:30 a.m. Wofford College