Southern Conference Announces Postseason Basketball Awards

Sunday, March 04, 2001

ASHEVILLE, NC -- The Southern Conference Sports Media Association today announced its men’s and women's basketball all-conference team and award winners.

The men's first, second and third teams and the women's two teams were selected by sportswriters, sportscasters and sports information directors throughout the SoCon’s five state membership area.

Jody Lumpkin, a 6-8 senior center for the College of Charleston, was voted the Southern Conference’s Player of the Year. Lumpkin is averaging 17.0 points and 7.6 rebounds and has helped the Cougars to a 22-6 record.

The SCSMA named East Tennessee State head coach Ed DeChellis as Coach of the Year. DeChellis led the Bucs to the North Division championship, an 18-9 overall record, and the best conference record in the league at 13-3. The Bucs improved from a 14-15 mark a year ago.

Jay Joseph of UNC Greensboro was named the league’s Freshman of the Year. The 6-4 guard is the top scoring freshman in the Southern Conference with a 13.5 points per game average.

The five-member first team includes Lumpkin, Wofford guard Ian Chadwick, VMI center Eric Mann, Furman forward Karim Souchu and UNCG guard Courtney Eldridge.

The second team consists of guards Jeff Bolton of College of Charleston and Julius Jenkins of Georgia Southern, forwards Kashien Latham of Georgia Southern, and center Oliver Morton of Chattanooga.

The third team includes guards Mike Lenzly of Wofford and Dimeco Childress of East Tennessee State, forwards David Schuck of UNCG and Donald Payne of Appalachian State and center Josh Shehan, also of Appalachian.

The 81st annual Mountain Dew Southern Conference Tournament begins play with four games on Thursday, March 1 at the BI-LO Center in Greenville, SC. The championship game is slated for a 3:30 start on Sunday, March 4 in a game to be televised nationally by ESPN.

SCSMA All-Southern Conference Team

First Team

Jody Lumpkin, College of Charleston

Ian Chadwick, Wofford

Eric Mann, VMI

Karim Souchu, Furman

Courtney Eldridge, UNC Greensboro

Second Team

Jeff Bolton, College of Charleston

Julius Jenkins, Georgia Southern

Oliver Morton, Chattanooga

Cory Largent, Western Carolina

Kashien Latham, Georgia Southern

Third Team

Dimeco Childress, East Tennessee State

Josh Shehan, Appalachian State

Donald Payne, Appalachian State

David Schuck, UNCG

Mike Lenzly, Wofford

ETSU head coach Ed DeChellis also earned Southern Conference Coach of the Year as selected by the league's coaches.

Childress was also selected to the All-Conference team by the league's coaches.

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MBB Virginia-Wise 66 F
Nov 18 ETSU 111
WBB Appalachian State University 76 Final
Nov 19 ETSU 70
WBB ETSU 79 Final
Nov 21 Saint Francis University 63
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. No. 5 Western Carolina (SoCon Quarterfinal)
MBB UNC Asheville 87 F
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. ETSU 98
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Winthrop 64
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Indiana State University 76
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 26, 12:00 p.m. Indiana University 97
WBB ETSU Blacksburg, Va.
Nov 29, 5:00 p.m. Virginia Tech University
MBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 1, 7:00 p.m. Morehead State
WBB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Dec 3, 5:00 p.m. George Mason University
MBB Western Carolina Freedom Hall
Dec 3, 8:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Huntsville, Ala.
Dec 6, 6:00 p.m. Alabama A&M University
MBB UNC Greensboro Freedom Hall
Dec 13, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB Eastern Kentucky University Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 13, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 15, 12:00 p.m. Morehead State University
MBB ETSU Richmond, Ky.
Dec 16, 7:00 p.m. Eastern Kentucky
WBB ETSU Wilmington, N.C.
Dec 19, 11:30 a.m. University of North Carolina Wilmington