ETSU's Smith, Wadood honored by SoCon media
ETSU guard Tim Smith was selected the SoCon's freshman of the year by the league's coaches and media.
ETSU guard Tim Smith was selected the SoCon's freshman of the year by the league's coaches and media.

Monday, March 03, 2003

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (March 4, 2003) - The honors keep coming for East Tennessee State men's basketball players Tim Smith (Newport News, Va.) and Zakee Wadood (Lonoke, Va.). Smith, who was voted the Southern Conference Freshman of the Year by the league's sports information directors on Sunday, received the same honor from the league's media on Monday. The 5-foot-9 guard is the league's leading freshman scorer, picking up an average of 14.4 points a contest. He currently ranks third in scoring for the Bucs, and is 18th in the nation with 2.5 steals per contest. The last Buccaneer to be named freshman of the year was ETSU great Greg Dennis in 1987-88. Meanwhile, Wadood, who was honored as an All-SoCon selection by the league's coaches, was picked as a second-team player in the media voting. The 6-foot-5 forward is currently second on the team with 14.5 points per game and leads the Bucs with 7.6 rebounds a contest. He is also third in the nation with 3.2 steals a game and leads ETSU with 2.2 blocks per contest. ETSU, which is 17-10 overall, 11-5 in SoCon action, returns to play Thursday in the quarterfinals of the Southern Conference Tournament at the North Charleston Coliseum in Charleston, S.C. At approximately 2:30 p.m. on Thursday, the No. 2-seeded Bucs will face the winner of the Wofford-UNC Greensboro game scheduled for Wednesday. 2003 Southern Conference Media All-SoCon Team Player of the year - Troy Wheless, College of Charleston Freshman of the year - Tim Smith, ETSU Coach of the year - Houston Fancher First team Troy Wheless, College of Charleston Karim Souchu, Furman Julius Jenkins, Georgia Southern Kevin Martin, Western Carolina Shawn Hall, Appalachian State Second team Zakee Wadood, East Tennessee State Ashley Champion, Chattanooga Wayne Bernard, Davidson Radee Skipworth, VMI Mike Lenzly, Wofford Third team Graham Bunn, Appalachian State Thomas Mobley, College of Charleston Guilherme Da Luz, Furman James Maye, UNC Greensboro Lee Nixon, Wofford
Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
WGOLF Atlantic Sun Conference Championships Jekyll Island, Ga.
Apr 14 1st of 10
SB Furman 7 Johnson City, Tenn.
Apr 16 ETSU 3
SB Furman 0
Apr 16 ETSU 5
BB ETSU 6 Jacksonville, Fla.
Apr 17 Jacksonville University 13
WTRACK War Eagle Invitational Auburn, Ala.
Apr 19 Results
MTRACK War Eagle Invitational Auburn, Ala.
Apr 19 Results
MTEN ETSU 4 Jacksonville, Fla.
Apr 19 Stetson 0
Apr 19 Jacksonville University 3
Apr 19 Jacksonville 3
Apr 19 Jacksonville
Apr 19 Jacksonville University
MGOLF Atlantic Sun Championship Braselton, Ga.
Apr 20 Results
Apr 20 FGCU 1
Apr 20 North Florida 0
Apr 20 Jacksonville