Smith receives first-team All-SoCon Tournament honor
Junior Tim Smith averaged over 26 points per game in eight SoCon Tournament contests.
Junior Tim Smith averaged over 26 points per game in eight SoCon Tournament contests.

Monday, March 07, 2005

SPARTANBURG, S.C. (March 5, 2005) - After being selected as a back-to-back winner of the Southern Conference Tournament MVP award the past two seasons, junior guard Tim Smith (Newport News, Va.) ended his Southern Conference exploits by once again being named to the tournament's first-team in 2004-05. ETSU will be leaving the SoCon to enter the Atlantic Sun Conference next season.


 Smith, who scored 37 points in a win over Furman in the first round, also scored 33 points in the Bucs' loss to Chattanooga in the quarterfinals. In his career at the Southern Conference tournament, Smith finished with an average of over 26 points per game in eight contests.


Along with Smith, Chattanooga's Mindaugas Katelynas and Casey Long, along with UNC Greensboro's Josh Gross and Kyle Hines were named to the first team.

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MBB UNC Greensboro 80 F
Dec 13 ETSU 79
WBB Eastern Kentucky University 49 Final
Dec 13 ETSU 64
WBB ETSU 86 Final
Dec 15 Morehead State University 77
Dec 16 Eastern Kentucky 60
WBB ETSU 48 Final
Dec 19 University of North Carolina Wilmington 61
WBB ETSU 56 Final
Dec 20 Jacksonville State University 57
MBB ETSU Richmond, Va.
Dec 22, 7:00 p.m. VCU
WBB Iona College Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 29, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
MBB ETSU Knoxville, Tenn.
Dec 31, 1:00 p.m. Tennessee
WBB ETSU Chapel Hill, N.C.
Jan 2, 2:00 p.m. University of North Carolina
MBB VMI Freedom Hall
Jan 2, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
MBB ETSU Birmingham, Ala.
Jan 5, 8:00 p.m. Samford
MBB Mercer Freedom Hall
Jan 8, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Greenville, S.C.
Jan 10, 2:00 p.m. Furman University
MBB Chattanooga Freedom Hall
Jan 10, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Spartanburg, S.C.
Jan 12, 11:30 a.m. Wofford College