Smith earns A-Sun Player of the Year honor; Pigram selected to All-Freshman squad
Senior guard Tim Smith became the Bucs' all-time leading scorer earlier this year.
Senior guard Tim Smith became the Bucs' all-time leading scorer earlier this year.

Tuesday, February 28, 2006


MACON, Ga. (Feb. 28, 2006) - ETSU senior guard Tim Smith (Newport News, Va.) made good on the predications.


Named the Atlantic Sun Conference Preseason Player of the Year back in October, Smith was officially selected as the conference Player of the Year on Tuesday, joining six other players from around the A-Sun as first-team selections. Meanwhile, freshman guard Courtney Pigram (Memphis) was chosen to the league's all-freshman team.


Smith lived up to the preseason hype during his final campaign in Johnson City, leading the conference in scoring and posting the league's highest scoring average (22.1 ppg) since 1995-96. The 5-9 senior has currently scored 596 points and should become only the third player in the last 13 seasons to reach the 600-point plateau in the A-Sun. Additionally, his 3.37 steals per game average is the fifth best in conference history.


Along with Smith, Gardner-Webb's Simon Conn, Florida Atlantic's Rodney Webb, Campbell's Maurice Latham, and Lipscomb's Brian Fish and Eddie Ard rounded out the first team selections.


Meanwhile, Pigram, who is currently the Bucs' second leading scorer with 12.3 points per game, was joined on the all-freshman squad by Jacksonville's Marcus Allen, Florida Atlantic's Carlos Monroe, Kennesaw State's Andre Morgan, and Belmont's Andy Wicke.


Fourteen of the 17 players honored by the conference office will participate in the 2006 General Shale Brick Atlantic Sun Championship.  The madness begins in the mountains on Thursday when top-seeded Lipscomb faces eighth-seeded Mercer at 1:00 pm to tipoff the quarterfinal round at the Memorial Center on the campus of ETSU.



Tim Smith, ETSU



Scott Sanderson, Lipscomb



Andre Morgan, Kennesaw State



Tim Jennings, Gardner-Webb



Pos.   Name                       School                 Cl.     Hometown                       

F       Eddie Ard                Lipscomb              SO     LaPlace, La.                     

C       Simon Conn              Gardner-Webb      SR     Melbourne, Australia         

G       Brian Fisk                Lipscomb              JR      Newbern, Tenn.                

F       Maurice Latham       Campbell              SR     Norfolk, Va.                     

G       Tim Smith                ETSU                   SR     Newport News, Va.          

F       Rodney Webb          Florida Atlantic      SR     Long Beach, Calif.            

Due to a tie in the voting, six players appear on the first team



Pos.   Name                       School                 Cl.     Hometown                       

F       Brian Bender            Gardner-Webb      SR     Lawrenceville, Ga.            

G       E.J. Gordon              Stetson                 SR     DeLand, Fla.                    

G       Justin Hare               Belmont                SO     Cleveland, Tenn.               

C       Boomer Herndon      Belmont                JR      Nashville, Tenn.                

F       Alain Laroche          North Florida         SR     Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.           



Pos.   Name                       School                 Hometown                                 

F       Marcus Allen           Jacksonville           Hollywood, Fla.                          

F       Carlos Monroe         Florida Atlantic      Philadelphia, Pa.                         

G       Andre Morgan          Kennesaw State    Buford, Ga.                                

G       Courtney Pigram      ETSU                   Memphis, Tenn.                         

G       Andy Wicke             Belmont                Hendersonville, Tenn.                 



Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MBB UNC Greensboro 80 F
Dec 13 ETSU 79
WBB Eastern Kentucky University 49 Final
Dec 13 ETSU 64
WBB ETSU 86 Final
Dec 15 Morehead State University 77
Dec 16 Eastern Kentucky 60
WBB ETSU 48 Final
Dec 19 University of North Carolina Wilmington 61
WBB ETSU 56 Final
Dec 20 Jacksonville State University 57
MBB ETSU Richmond, Va.
Dec 22, 7:00 p.m. VCU
WBB Iona College Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 29, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
MBB ETSU Knoxville, Tenn.
Dec 31, 1:00 p.m. Tennessee
WBB ETSU Chapel Hill, N.C.
Jan 2, 2:00 p.m. University of North Carolina
MBB VMI Freedom Hall
Jan 2, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
MBB ETSU Birmingham, Ala.
Jan 5, 8:00 p.m. Samford
MBB Mercer Freedom Hall
Jan 8, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Greenville, S.C.
Jan 10, 2:00 p.m. Furman University
MBB Chattanooga Freedom Hall
Jan 10, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Spartanburg, S.C.
Jan 12, 11:30 a.m. Wofford College