Forbes named finalist for Joe B. Hall Award
Head coach Steve Forbes and the Bucs enjoyed a successful season in 2015-16, with 24 wins and a postseason trip to the Vegas 16.
Forbes named finalist for Joe B. Hall Award
Thursday, March 31, 2016

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (March 31, 2016) – After leading the ETSU men’s basketball team to the third most wins in school history and a spot in postseason play, announced this week that Buccaneers’ head coach Steve Forbes has been named as a finalist for the Joe B. Hall award.

The award is named in the honor of Joe B. Hall who was given the task of following the legendary Adolph Rupp. In his first season at the University of Kentucky, Hall finished 20-8, won the SEC and advanced to the NCAA Regional Finals. The recipient of the 2016 honor will be announced on Monday, April 4 in Houston, site of the men's NCAA division I men's basketball championship.

In his first season at ETSU, Forbes revamped the Bucs’ roster and added 10 fresh faces to go along with six returning players. That group ultimately won 24 games, finished one game back of Chattanooga for the Southern Conference regular season title, advance to the championship game of the SoCon Tournament, and ended the year with a trip to the semifinals of the inaugural Vegas 16 Tournament.

Finalists for the Joe B. Hall award include:

Chris Beard, Little Rock

Linc Darner, Green Bay

Nathan Davis, Bucknell

Steve Forbes, ETSU

Eran Ganot, Hawaii

Eric Konkol, Louisiana Tech

Matt McCall, Chattanooga

Matt McMahon, Murray State

Nate Oats, Buffalo

Montez Robinson, Alcorn State

From 1972 to 1985 Hall would win two-thirds of his games (297-100), receive four SEC Coach of the Year honors and win a National Championship (1978). Along with the 1978 title, Hall also guided Kentucky to a runner-up finish to UCLA in the 1975 NCAA tournament, a Final Four appearance in the 1984 NCAA Tournament and an NIT championship in 1976. He won 8 Southeastern Conference regular season championships and one Southeastern Conference tournament championship (1984).

Hall is one of only three men to win an NCAA championship as a player (1949- Kentucky) and coach (1978- Kentucky). The only others to achieve this feat are Bob Knight and Dean Smith.

For more on ETSU men’s basketball throughout the offseason, visit and click on the men’s hoops link.