Forbes named finalist for Skip Prosser Man of the Year award
Forbes named finalist for Skip Prosser Man of the Year award
Wednesday, March 13, 2019

BOSTON, Mass. (March 13, 2019) — East Tennessee State University men’s basketball head coach Steve Forbes was named a finalist for the 2019 Skip Prosser Man of the Year award.

Named after the late Skip Prosser, who died suddenly in 2007 while the head coach at Wake Forest, the award is presented annually to those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who also display moral integrity off of it as well.

“It’s an honor and a privilege to be considered for such a prestigious award," said Forbes. "Everyone in our profession has the utmost respect for Coach Prosser and for what he stood for. I’m excited to be nominated alongside numerous peers to whom I look up to and admire.”

During the 2018-19 season, Coach Forbes led the Blue and Gold to their fourth straight 20-win campaign – a feat that has only been accomplished twice in program history. ETSU’s 24 wins are tied for the seventh-most in program history, along with his 2015-16 squad, while the 25 wins last season rank sixth and the 27 wins during the Bucs’ SoCon Championship run are tied for second-most.

Forbes has led the Bucs to 100 wins since he took over the program in 2015-16, becoming only the 11th active NCAA Division I head coach to reach 100 wins in their first four seasons. ETSU became the 18th Division I program to reach 100 wins during this time frame, while Coach Forbes’ .725 win percentage ranks 12th nationally among active coaches who are in at least their fourth year of having Division I experience.

Since taking over the program, Forbes has led ETSU to the most wins in the SoCon and the state of Tennessee, while the 100 wins are the most during a four-year run in Buccaneer history.

This season, the Blue and Gold lead the country in rebound margin (11.1), while ranking second in total rebounds (1,320), 13th in rebounds per game (40.0), 17th in field goal percentage (48.5), 18th in offensive rebounds per game (13.06), 19th in total assists (513), 27th in scoring margin (10.4), 35th in total steals (246) and 41st in scoring offense (79.2).

Forbes is one of two SoCon coaches to be a finalist as Wofford’s Mike Young is also up for the award. The other finalists include Casey Alexander, Lipscomb, Tommy Amaker, Harvard, Rick Byrd, Belmont, Johnny Dawkins, UCF, Fran Dunphy, Temple, Joe Golding, Abilene Christian, Earl Grant, Charleston, Jason Hooten, Sam Houston State, Michael Huger, Bowling Green, Donte’ Jackson, Grambling, James Jones, Yale, Mike Jones, Radford, Robert Jones, Norfolk State, Jay Joyner, North Carolina A&T, Danny Kaspar, Texas State, Rob Krimmel, Saint Francis PA, Matt McMahon, Murray State, Joe Mihalich, Hofstra, Nate Oats, Buffalo, Ryan Odom, UMBC, Matt Painer, Purdue, Doc Sadler, Southern Miss, Bruce Weber, Kansas State.

The recipient of the 2019 Skip Prosser award will be announced on April 5 at the College Insider Awards Event, in Minneapolis, site of the 2019 NCAA division I basketball championship.

For complete information on ETSU men’s basketball, follow the program via social media on Twitter (@ETSU_MBB) and Instagram (@etsubasketball). 

For more information on Buccaneer men’s basketball, visit and click on the men’s basketball link.