Men's Golf Coach Fred Warren Inducted Into the TCU Horned Frog Classic Hall of Honor

Wednesday, October 18, 2000

Johnson City, Tenn. -- East Tennessee State men's golf coach Fred Warren was inducted to the Texas Christian University Horned Frog Classic Hall of Honor on October 9 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Coach Warren was recognized for his contributions to the TCU golf program. Warren began his head coaching career at TCU, where he led both the men's and women's programs from 1979-84. While at TCU, his Horned Frog men's team finished fourth at the 1980 NCAA Championships and posted a 27th-place finish in 1983. That year he became the first coach to ever place a men's and women's team in the NCAA Tournament field during the same season. He guided the women to the 1983 NCAA title and a runner-up finish the previous year. He was named Southwest Conference Coach-of-the-Year in 1980 and was the SWC Women's Coach-of-the-Year in 1983.

Since his arrival at East Tennessee State in 1986, the Warren-led Buccaneer program has been a consistent performer among the nation's elite, including a third-place finish at the 1996 NCAA Championships, a 17th-place finish in 2000 and a 13th place finish in 1999. The Bucs have finished in the top 13 five times and in the top 25 nine times since 1986. The Buccaneers are currently ranked 13th in the Golfweek college golf rankings.

During the past 14 seasons, Warren's Buc squads have won 32 tournaments, including the 2000 Southern Conference Championship. The Bucs won two tournament titles in 1998-99 (Country Club of Louisiana Invitational and the Southern Conference Championship). His 1995-96 team won six events, tying national champion Arizona State and Florida for the most tournament wins during the year.

Warren's induction into the Hall of Honor adds to his long list of accolades. While at ETSU, Warren has been named the Southern Conference Coach-of-the-Year seven times (1989, 1990, 1991, 1994, 1996, 1998 and 1999), the District Coach-of-the-Year twice (1989, 1996) and has also been a two-time finalist for National Coach-of-the-Year. Warren has also led the Bucs to Southern Conference titles ten times (1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1998, 1999 and 2000) and seven consecutive NCAA Championship appearances (nine overall).

Warren's induction is a part of the TCU Horned Frog Classic. This year, the 1983 women's golf National Championship team was inducted in one of the first Hall of Honor induction ceremonies in several years.

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MCC NCAA South Regional Tallahassee, Fla.
Nov 14 13 of 22
WCC NCAA South Regional Tallahassee, Fla.
Nov 14 23 of 29
VB ETSU 3 Charleston, S.C.
Nov 14 The Citadel 1
WBB ETSU 81 Final
Nov 14 University of North Carolina at Asheville 68
Nov 14 Valparaiso 90
VB ETSU 3 Macon, Ga.
Nov 15 Mercer University 1
WBB High Point University 76 Final
Nov 17 ETSU 84
MBB Virginia-Wise 66 F
Nov 18 ETSU 111
WBB Appalachian State University 76 Final
Nov 19 ETSU 70
WBB ETSU 79 Final
Nov 21 Saint Francis University 63
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. No. 5 Western Carolina (SoCon Quarterfinal)
MBB UNC Asheville 87 F
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. ETSU 98
MBB ETSU Rock Hill, S.C.
Nov 24, 7:00 p.m. Winthrop
WBB ETSU Terre Haute, Ind.
Nov 24, 8:00 p.m. Indiana State University
WBB ETSU Bloomington, Ind.
Nov 26, 2:00 p.m. Indiana University
WBB ETSU Blacksburg, Va.
Nov 29, 5:00 p.m. Virginia Tech University
MBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 1, 7:00 p.m. Morehead State
WBB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Dec 3, 5:00 p.m. George Mason University
MBB Western Carolina Freedom Hall
Dec 3, 8:00 p.m. ETSU