Warren named to GCAA Pace of Play Panel
Head ETSU men's golf coach Fred Warren was named one of the 13 members to GCAA Pace of Play panel.
Head ETSU men's golf coach Fred Warren was named one of the 13 members to GCAA Pace of Play panel.

Thursday, June 10, 2010

NORMAN, Okla. (June 10, 2010) - With the support of the NCAA, USGA, PGA TOUR and AJGA, The GCAA has announced the creation of a panel to study and make recommendations on ways to address the continuing problems related to pace of play in college golf.


The panel, which is made up of experienced coaches, as well as representatives from the USGA, PGA TOUR, NCAA and AJGA, includes head ETSU men's golf coach Fred Warren.  

"Over the past decade we've seen an increasing problem regarding pace of play in college golf," said GCAA President Mark Crabtree. "Whether it is the size of fields, the increasing use of technology, hesitancy of tournament officials to penalize players or failure by players and coaches to adhere to pace of play guidelines, slow play has gotten out of hand and we as college coaches need to find the best solutions to combat this issue."

The panel will conduct a complete review and make recommendations on the best practices to address the slow play issue. Bushnell will partner with the panel by providing data from previous studies as well as hosting a panel meeting at its national headquarters in August.

Recommendations will be test implemented at select events in the fall of 2010. Results of the panel's review and implementation of initiatives at fall events will be discussed at the GCAA National Convention in December with final recommendations to be endorsed for events beginning in spring 2011.

The committee will be co-chaired by Crabtree and incoming GCAA president Bruce Brockbank. Rules of Golf committee member and Furman coach Todd Satterfield will be joined by coaches Kyle Blaser of Oklahoma City, Purdue's Devon Brouse, Jamie Green of Duke, Mark Immelman of Columbus State, Cincinnati's Doug Martin, Casey Martin of Oregon, Tommy Snell of Mississippi Gulf Coast, NC State's Richard Sykes, and Matt Thurmond of Washington. Past USGA Senior Director of Rules and Competitions Tom Meeks, PGA TOUR Director of Competitions Tyler Dennis, NCAA Assistant Director of Championships Donnie Wagner and AJGA Executive Director Stephen Hamblin will also serve on the panel.


For more information on Buccaneer golf, visit www.ETSUBucs.com.  



Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
WSOC Radford 2 F
Aug 22 ETSU 3
Aug 23 Virginia Tech (Exh.) 0
Aug 24 Tennessee Tech 1
WSOC Appalachian St. 0 F (2OT)
Aug 28 ETSU 1
MCC Covered Bridge Open Boone, N.C.
Aug 29 3 of 11
WCC Covered Bridge Open Boone, N.C.
Aug 29 5 of 11
VB ETSU 3 Charlotte, N.C.
Aug 29 Morgan State University 0
VB ETSU 1 Charlotte, N.C.
Aug 29 California State University, Sacramento 3
Aug 29 William & Mary 2
VB ETSU Charlotte, N.C.
Aug 30, 12:00 p.m. UNC Charlotte
WSOC Campbell Johnson City, Tenn.
Aug 31, 1:00 p.m. ETSU
MSOC ETSU Richmond, Va.
Aug 31, 3:30 p.m. VCU
WSOC South Carolina St. Johnson City. Tenn.
Sep 2, 6:00 p.m. ETSU
WSOC Alabama A&M Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 4, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
VB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Sep 5, 3:00 p.m. The College of William and Mary
VB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Sep 5, 7:00 p.m. George Mason University
VB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Sep 6, 12:00 p.m. University of Maryland