Captains, Coulter and Hodges, win yearly A-Sun awards
Pictured: Seniors Ryan Coulter (left) and Nate Hodges (right)
Captains, Coulter and Hodges, win yearly A-Sun awards
Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Ten ETSU players receive All-Atlantic Sun honors

MACON, Ga. (Nov. 12, 2013) – Capping a regular season highlighted by historic defensive performances, ETSU Men’s Soccer defensive catalysts Ryan Coulter (Dublin, Ireland) and Nate Hodges (Meridian, Miss.) have been named Atlantic Sun Goalkeeper of the Year and Defender of the Year, respectively.

Ten ETSU players received All-Atlantic Sun honors, more than any other Atlantic Sun school.

“It is great to see so many players are held in high esteem by the A-Sun coaches,” ETSU head coach Scott Calabrese said. “It truly is a great honor for our players who have worked extremely hard and selflessly to make the team and program successful.

It shows that when you commit yourself to the success of the team, individual success and recognition often follows,” Calabrese said.

Coulter, a co-captain along with Hodges and David Geno (Kingsport, Tenn.), has been named the conference’s most outstanding goalkeeper the past two seasons. Earlier this season, the Dublin, Ireland, native became the Atlantic Sun’s all-time leader for shutouts with 24 career clean sheets. Coulter currently ranks first in A-Sun history with a career goals against average of 0.95.

Hodges started in all 17 games this season for the Bucs, helping anchor a defense that set program records for goals against average (0.82) and shutout percentage (0.53), while earning a conference-best nine clean sheets. He becomes the first ever ETSU player to win the Atlantic Sun Defender of the Year award.


In addition to winning the awards, Coulter and Hodges joined teammates David Geno and Itode Fubara (Obgema, Nigeria) on the All-Atlantic Sun First Team. This season marked the fourth consecutive year ETSU saw multiple players earn All-First Team honors.

Geno, last season’s Atlantic Sun Player of the Year, led the Buccaneers with nine points despite missing the team’s first three games due to injury. The Kingsport, Tenn., native is the program’s leader for career goals (26), assists (19), and points (71).

Fubara, ETSU’s all-time leader for minutes played (6,435), commanded the Bucs’ offense as a holding midfielder, scoring a goal and dishing out two assists. He also became the first ever ETSU student-athlete to be named a finalist for the prestigious Senior CLASS Award. Fans can vote cast their votes for the award until Nov. 25.

ETSU’s four All-Atlantic Sun First Team selections was the most of any member institution, as was its three All-Second Team recognitions.


Defenders Kristoffer Ibsen (Aalborg, Denmark) and Blaike Woodruff (Georgetown, Texas) joined forward Luis Calzadilla (Caracas, Venezuela) on the All-Atlantic Sun Second Team.

Ibsen, who earned a spot on the A-Sun All-Freshman First Team last season, emerged as a versatile two-way defender for ETSU in his sophomore campaign. In 15 appearances for the Buccaneers, Ibsen scored two goals, while playing a pivotal role for ETSU’s league-leading defense.

Woodruff, along with Coulter and Hodges, was one of just three Buccaneers to start all 17 games this season. His 72 starts over the past four years rank him in the A-Sun’s Top 20 for all-time starts.


Three ETSU players earned spots on the All-Atlantic Sun Freshman Team, the program’s most since Geno, Fubara, and Woodruff did so in 2010.

Thibault Civalier (Nice, France), Jeffrey George (Safety Harbor, Fla.), and Joao Ramalho (Monte Santo, Brazil) each made tremendous contributions in their first seasons for the Bucs.

Civalier played in nine games, making seven starts. His first career goal was the game-winner for ETSU in the team’s 1-0 victory over Kentucky Sept. 5.

George provided a spark off the bench for ETSU, appearing in 13 games, equaling teammate William Nordenstrom for most appearances by a freshman.

Battling back from a serious knee injury, Ramalho played in 10 games for ETSU, scoring two goals and dishing out an assist in just 281 minutes of action.

ETSU will begin postseason play Friday, Nov. 15 at 4:00 p.m. in the 2013 Atlantic Sun Men’s Soccer Championship Semifinals. The Bucs will take on the winner of Wednesday’s No. 3 Lipscomb vs. No. 6 Jacksonville match.

View the full tournament bracket here.