Eleven Bucs headline SoCon all-conference awards
Eleven Bucs headline SoCon all-conference awards
Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Oshoniyi, Sutherland and nine others receive all-conference recognition

SPARTANBURG, S.C. (Nov. 7, 2017) – Fresh off a undefeated conference record and a regular season Southern Conference championship, the league office announced Tuesday ETSU led the SoCon with 11 players and head coach Bo Oshoniyi earning all-conference honors.

“It’s always good to be recognized by the competitors you’re playing against,” Oshoniyi said. “We’re all about team, and I’m happy for the guys (that earned all-conference honors), but as a group our goal is to win championships. We’ve checked one box with the regular season, and now our goal is to win the SoCon tournament.”

Taking home back-to-back individual honors, Oshoniyi and junior goalkeeper Jonny Sutherland (Chester, U.K.) earned SoCon Coach of the Year and Goalkeeper of the Year, respectively, for the second straight season.

Furthermore, the Bucs placed five players on the All-Conference First Team, as Sutherland joined seniors Fletcher Ekern (Knoxville, Tenn.) and Chase Clack (Memphis, Tenn.) in earning back-to-back first team selections.

Also earning his second straight selection to the first team was junior midfielder Serge Gomis (Dakar, Senegal). Joining the four on the list for the first time in his career was sophomore newcomer Bruno Andrade (Sao Paulo, Brazil), who led the team with five assists.

On the second team, ETSU tied with Furman to lead the team with four players. For the Bucs, the Floridian midfield duo of senior Jeffrey George (Safety Harbor, Fla.) and junior Nick Spielman (Melbourne, Fla.) joined senior defender Ben Holt (Knoxville, Tenn.) and freshman forward Danny Barlow (Newcastle, England) on the second team.

The Bucs also had two players earn all-freshman honors with Barlow and forward Austin Bihlmeyer (Knoxville, Tenn.). Both players earned two assists on the season, while Barlow turned in a team-high five goals.

The awards are voted on by the head coaches of each of the six conference teams. Also, coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

Oshoniyi said each award, specifically the coach of the year honor, can all be attributed to the players and the staff.

“All of the credit goes to our players,” he said. “Without them buying in and working hard, none of this is possible. And second of all, this award is credited to the staff. Without our assistant coaches David Lilly and Brad Camp, our trainer Manny Castro, Alex Wetmore and our sports science staff (Kelsey Scarbrough and Justin Taylor) and our sports information assistant Mike Ezekiel, none of this is possible.

“For me, this is a staff award and not just an individual award. I’m grateful and thankful that we’re able to get these awards. But now, we’re going to put this behind us and try to go win a SoCon championship.”


Below is the full list of the 2017 SoCon all-conference awards:

Player of the Year – Laurence Wyke, Jr., MF/D, Furman

Goalkeeper of the Year – Jonny Sutherland, Jr., ETSU

Coach of the Year – Bo Oshoniyi, ETSU

Freshman of the Year – Nelson Oceano, MF, UNCG


All-Conference First Team

F                Bruno Andrade, ETSU

F                Fletcher Ekern, ETSU

F                Will Bagrou, Mercer

F                Lucas Altman, Wofford

MF             Serge Gomis, ETSU

MF             Laurence Wyke, Furman

MF             Leeroy Maguraushe, UNCG

D                Chase Clack, ETSU

D                Kevin Edelmann, Furman

D                Conner Antley, Mercer

GK             Jonny Sutherland, ETSU


All-Conference Second Team

F                Danny Barlow, ETSU

F                Cole McLagan, Furman

F                Matt Mattis, UNCG

MF             Jeffrey George, ETSU

MF             Nick Spielman, ETSU

MF             Danny Kierath, Furman

MF             Nelson Oceano, UNCG

D                Ben Holt, ETSU

D                Kyle McLagan, Furman

D                Trenton Whitely, Mercer

GK             Ben Hale, Furman

GK             Jeremy Booth, Mercer


All-Freshman Team

Danny Barlow, ETSU

Austin Bihlmeyer, ETSU

Ben Hale, Furman

Cole McLagan, Furman

Alex Henderson, UNCG

Nelson Oceano, UNCG

Cyril Owolabi, UNCG

Kareve Richards, Mercer

Leonel Toledo, Mercer

Zach Aversano, Wofford

Pa-Alieu Ann, VMI


The top seeded Bucs will face No. 4 Mercer this Friday, Nov. 10 at 3:30 p.m. on the campus of Furman University. The winner of the semifinal will advance to the championship final against the winner of No.2 UNCG and No. 3 Furman. The championship round is set to kickoff Sunday, Nov. 12 at 1 p.m.  

ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today!

For more information on Buccaneer men’s soccer visit ETSUBucs.com and click on the men’s soccer page. Also, like us on Facebook at ETSU Men’s Soccer and follow us on Twitter and Instagram at the handle @ETSUMSoccer.