No. 48 ETSU tops No. 50 MTSU, 5-1

Sunday, February 10, 2008

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. (February 10, 2008) - The No. 48 ETSU men's tennis team dropped the MTSU Blue Raiders, 5-1 Sunday, at the Racquet Club Indoor Tennis Facility in Murfreesboro. ETSU improves to 5-2 on the year while the Blue Raiders fall to 4-4.


The Bucs jumped out to an early 1-0 lead as they took the doubles point. In the No. 2 singles the 33rd-ranked duo of Sebastian Serrano (Cartagena, Colombia) and Enrique Olivares (Puerto Ordaz, Venezuela) downed Chris Nowak and John Peers, 8-4 while Lisandro Picardo (Mar del Plata, Argentina) and Daniel Isaza (Medellin, Colombia) defeated Joao Paoliello and Marc Rocafort, 9-7 in the second position to claim the point. Rounding out the doubles Oscar Posada (Valencia, Venezuela) and Alex Ahlgren (Tyreso, Sweden) defeated Richard Cowden and Morgan Richard, 9-8(3) in the top position.


ETSU then earned the 2-0 advantage when No. 49 Enrique Olivares defeated Marc Rocafort in straight sets, 6-3, 6-2 in the No. 1 slot while Predrag Burmazovic (Belgrade, Serbia) defeated Morgan Richard 6-4, 6-4 in the third position.


The Blue Raiders then closed the gap to 3-1 when John Peers defeated Sebastian Serrano, 7-6(4), 6-2. However the Bucs clinched the match when Lisandro Picardo rallied from a set down to defeat Richard Cowden, 2-6, 7-6(2), 6-3 in the No. 4 position.


ETSU earned its final point when senior Oscar Posada defeated Chris Nowak, 5-7, 6-2, 10-7 in the No. 5 slot. The last match between Daniel Isaza and Joao Paoliello was called after one set because ETSU has already clinched the match. Isaza led after winning the first set, 6-4, 1-1.


"I'm very proud of this team. It was a great match. There were a lot of spots where we could lose but the guys fought hard," said head coach Yaser Zaatini. "Enrique took care of business as usual for us and Predrag won with intensity. Lisandro injected a little bit of energy and closed it out for us, Oscar also had a great win for us which was really needed."


The Bucs will be back in action on February 16 as they travel to Winston-Salem, N.C. to take on No. 11 Wake Forest. The match is set to begin at 10 a.m. Follow all ETSU men's tennis action at


No. 48 ETSU 5, No. 50 MTSU 1


No. 1- #49 Enrique Olivares (ETSU) def. Marc Rocafort (MTSU) 6-3, 6-2

No. 2- John Peers (MTSU) def. Sebastian Serrano (ETSU) 7-6(4), 6-2

No. 3- Predrag Burmazovic (ETSU) def. Morgan Richard (MTSU) 6-4, 6-4

No. 4- Lisandro Picardo (ETSU) def. Richard Cowden (MTSU) 2-6, 7-6(2), 6-3

No. 5- Oscar Posada (ETSU) def. Chris Nowak (MTSU) 5-7, 6-2, 10-7

No. 6- Daniel Isaza (ETSU) led Joao Paoliello (MTSU) 6-4, 1-1

Order of Finish - 1, 3, 2, 4*, 5



No. 1- Ahlgren/Posada (ETSU) def. Cowden/Richard (MTSU) 9-8(3)

No. 2- #33 Olivares/Serrano (ETSU) def.Peers/Nowak (MTSU) 8-4

No. 3- Picardo/Isaza (ETSU) def. Paoliello/Rocafort (MTSU) 9-7

Order of Finish - 2,3*,1


* - deciding match

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
BB ETSU 17 Morehead, Ky.
Mar 17 Morehead St. 14
SB USC Upstate 5 Johnson City, Tenn.
Mar 17 ETSU 0
SB USC Upstate 4 8
Mar 17 ETSU 3
WTRACK Charlotte 49er Classic Charlotte, N.C.
Mar 19 Results
MTRACK Charlotte 49er Classic Charlotte, N.C.
Mar 19 Results
MTEN ETSU 0 Athens, Ga.
Mar 19 Georgia 9
WBB ETSU 58 Final
Mar 19 NC State 73
MTRACK Charlotte 49er Classic Charlotte, N.C.
Mar 20 Results
WTRACK Charlotte 49er Classic Charlotte, N.C.
Mar 20 Results
WTEN ETSU 7 Spartanburg, S.C.
Mar 20 Wofford 0
BB ETSU 0 Macon, Ga.
Mar 20 Mercer 2
WTRACK Charlotte 49er Classic Charlotte, N.C.
Mar 21 Results
MTRACK Charlotte 49er Classic Charlotte, N.C.
Mar 21 Results
MTEN ETSU 6 Greensboro, N.C.
Mar 21 UNC Greensboro 1
BB ETSU 5 Macon, Ga.
Mar 21 Mercer 11