Men’s and women’s tennis named ITA All-Academic Teams
Gille (left) and Jaime (right) were two of 10 ETSU student-athletes to earn the ITA Scholar Athlete honors.
Men’s and women’s tennis named ITA All-Academic Teams
Monday, July 30, 2012

Five men and five women earn ITA Scholar Athlete Award

SKILLMAN, N.J. (July 30, 2012) – The ETSU men’s and women’s tennis teams continued to excel both on the courts and in the classroom throughout the 2011-12 season, as both were named ITA All-Academic Teams along with five members from each squad earning Scholar Athlete honors.

Both teams are receiving the All Academic honors for the second year in a row, with the women’s side having now been recognized six of the last eight years. To earn the accolade, teams must carry a combine GPA of 3.2 or higher. The ETSU men boasted a mark just under 3.4, while the women posted a 3.754.

“Receiving these honors brings a lot of pride into our program,” Director of ETSU Tennis Yaser Zaatini said. “Having our student-athletes succeed in the classroom and put together championship after championship is an accomplishment beyond words and makes a coach and the university extremely proud. The quality of people that come out of this program year after year is contagious and it makes me very proud.”

From the men’s team, seniors Robin Akser (Ornskoldsvik, Sweden), Jeremy Bonnevalle (Keerbergen, Belgium) and Sander Gille (Kuringen, Belgium), as well as sophomore Roger Ordeig (Gurb, Spain) and freshman Rogerio Ribeiro (Sao Paulo, Brazil) earned Scholar Athlete honors by carrying individual GPAs above 3.5. Overall, ETSU represented five of 25 student-athletes from the Atlantic Sun Conference to earn the men’s honors.

Off the women’s team, seniors Paula Jaime (Madrid, Spain), Marine Wieliczko (Rouen, France) and Diana Navrotska (Lviv, Ukraine) took home the Scholar Athlete honors. Sophomore Giulia Andreazza (Balneario Camboriu, Brazil) and freshman Jessica Brumit (Elizabethton, Tenn.) joined the senior trio as ITA Scholar Athletes, with the Buccaneers representing five of 21 student-athletes receiving the award from the A-Sun.

For more information on ETSU tennis, please visit and click on the tennis links.