ETSU Volleyball and Men’s Tennis teams earn NCAA APR recognition
ETSU Volleyball and Men’s Tennis teams earn NCAA APR recognition
Wednesday, April 13, 2016

Both teams rank in the top 10 percent in their respective sports in APR

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (April 13, 2016) – The ETSU volleyball and men’s tennis teams earned a special public recognition on Wednesday, as both squads ranked among the top 10 percent of the nation’s programs in their respective sports in the NCAA’s annual Academic Progress Rate.

This award for the APR, which was developed by the NCAA as an innovative way to determine the academic culture in each sport by measuring on-going eligibility, retention and graduation each semester, is given every year based on the most recent multi-year Academic Progress Rate.

Both ETSU Head Volleyball Coach Lindsey Devine and ETSU Head Men’s Tennis Coach Yaser Zaatini were proud of their respective team’s accomplishment.

“I want to congratulate our team and our players for their dedication to academic success,” Devine said. “This achievement demonstrates their hard work and the commitment to our team’s expectations and importance we have on success in the classroom.”

“It is amazing to see how dedicated this bunch of guys are,” remarked Zaatini. “They are now recognized but it is no surprise to me about their academic success. I have been seeing it for 14 years. In the name of the previous, excellent and amazing teams in the past, we have proven to be winners on the court and most importantly in the classroom.

In total, 1,071 teams were publicly recognized for high achievement including 649 women’s teams and 422 men’s or mixed squads. The scores required to be in the top 10 ranged from 983 to a perfect 1,000, depending on the sport. Earning a perfect APR score were 944 teams.

All Division I teams’ APR scores will be released April 20. All teams must meet a certain academic threshold to qualify for the postseason and can face penalties for continued low academic performance.

The most recent APRs are multiyear rates based on scores from the 2011-2012, 2012-13, 2013-14 and 2014-15 academic years.