ETSU Track & Field announces 2015 team award winners
ETSU Track & Field announces 2015 team award winners
Wednesday, September 16, 2015

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (September 16, 2015) – The ETSU track and field program announced its 2015 individual and team awards on Wednesday selected by the ETSU coaching staff taking both indoor and outdoor results into consideration. Track and Field also honored team captains and those who broke school records during the 2014-15 track and field season.

“We are excited about beginning a tradition of presenting awards to our athletes for their achievement during the 2015 indoor and outdoor seasons. The coaching staff had a tough time selecting the recipients due to the success of many athletes,” said director of track & field/cross country George Watts. “Our theme for the year is to ‘elevate’ our performances both academically and athletically as I hope this year’s team will work hard to be recognized at next years awards presentation.”  

ETSU Individual Awards

Best Newcomer Award – Patrick Taylor (Chattanooga, Tenn.) / Timia Easley (Columbus, Ohio)

Taylor participated in the 100M, 200M and long jump during the outdoor season placing fourth at the SoCon outdoor championships in long jump with a distance of 7.03m (22’7”). He also scored at the championships in the 100M (10.85) and 200M (21.89).

Easley finished fourth at the SoCon Outdoor championships in triple jump with a distance of 11.26m (36’ 11.5”).

David Walker Most Valuable Athlete Award – Michael Williams (Mt.Laurel, N.J.)/Demeteria Edgecombe (Spartanburg, S.C.)

Williams earned the SoCon Outdoor Championship in the 400M hurdles with a personal best time of 52.03. He also scored in the 100mH and anchored the 4x400m relay team at the outdoor championships. Williams qualified and placed 30th in the 400M hurdles at the NCAA Division I East Preliminary round.

Edgecombe won the conference title in the 100M hurdles in both the indoor and outdoor SoCon Championships with meet record times of 13.35. During the indoor season she scored in the 60m and 200m while in the outdoor she scored in the 100m and 200m.  She made her third NCAA Regional appearance where she finished 20th with a time of 13.50 in the 100mH. She was named the Most Outstanding Track Performer and shared Most Outstanding Athlete honors at the 2015 SoCon Outdoor Track and Field championships.

Senior Academic Achievement Award – Adam Chase (Kingsport, Tenn.) / Verena Tobis (Dusslingen, Germany)

Chase was named First Team Capital One Academic All-America honors in 2015 after posting a perfect cumulative 4.0 grade point average. Chase was the conference champion in the steeplechase at the SoCon Outdoor Track and Field Championships.

-Tobis earned a first place  at the SoCon Outdoor Championships in javelin throw with a distance of 44.08m (144’ 7”). She placed second in discus throw at the Outdoor and Indoor SoCon Championships with throws of 44.15m (144’ 10”). She posted a perfect 4.0 cumulative GPA in Mass Communications and was placed on the SoCon Academic honor roll.

Buccaneer Award (Toughest Competitor) – Chris Winkle (Gray, Tenn.) / Marabeth Clark (Maryville, Tenn.)

Winkle at the SoCon Indoor championships, Winkle placed fifth after a height of 4.68m (15’ 4.25”). He posted a height of 4.76m (15’ 7.25”) in pole vault at the 2015 UT Challenge that earned him 14th place during the outdoor season.

Clark set three personal bests in the 100M (12.88), 100mH (16.04) and 400mH (1:07.16) during the season collecting seven top five finishes. She scored in the 200m at the SoCon Indoor championships with a time of 25.96 and was named to the SoCon All-freshman team. As part of the 4x100m relay team, she finished second at the SoCon Outdoor Championships. Clark ran on both 4x400m relay teams during the indoor and outdoor seasons.

Most Improved Athlete Award – James Miller (Oak Ridge, Tenn.) / Keturah Williams (Alpharetta, Ga.)

Miller posted career bests in the 5000m (15:10.40) and 3000 steeplechase (9:23.30) during the indoor and outdoor seasons.

Williams at the SoCon Indoor Championships ran a personal best time of 11:66 in the 100M. She was also a part of the 4x100M relay team that finished second at the SoCon Outdoor Championships.

Performance of the Year Award – Thomas Miller (Lithonia, Ga.) / Demeteria Edgecombe (Spartanburg, S.C.)

Miller at the 2015 Aggie Last Chance ran a time of 1:49.85 in the 800m placing second at the meet and ranking as the third fastest time in ETSU program history.  

At the 2015 SoCon Outdoor Championship broke the meet and school record with a time of 13.32 in the 100mH to capture the conference championship.

Along with individual awards, the men’s and women’s teams recognized the team captains and performances that went on to break school records.

Team captains
Demeteria Edgecombe, Angus Baldwin, Anthony Goins, Thomas Miller

School Records

  • Demeteria Edgecombe
    • 60M Hurdles (8.29)
    • 100M Hurdles (13.32)
  • Ashley Kessler
    • Indoor Pole Vault (12’ 51/2”)
  • Keturah Williams
    • 100M Dash (11.65)

ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today!