Johnson, Brown earn postseason SoCon awards
Johnson, Brown earn postseason SoCon awards
Wednesday, February 27, 2019

Ben Johnson wins Male Most Outstanding Field Performer, Mekayla Brown named Female Freshman of the Year

SPARTANBURG, S.C. (Feb. 27, 2019) – The Southern Conference announced its track and field specialty awards following this year’s SoCon Indoor Track and Field Championship, listing two Bucs as honorees on Wednesday afternoon.

Redshirt senior Ben Johnson (Nashville) was named the Male Most Outstanding Field Performer following his sweep of the men’s throwing events last weekend. True freshman Mekayla Brown (Elgin, S.C.) earned Female Freshman of Year to end a strong rookie season.

Johnson set a season high in the men’s weight at 21.60 meters, slightly missing out on the NCAA Championships with a No. 17 ranking in the nation. Johnson also won gold in the shot put event with a new personal best of 16.39 meters.

The award marks Johnson’s first Male Most Outstanding Field Performer honor for indoor season. ETSU has won the award in two of the last three seasons with Nathan Rivera brining home the trophy in 2017.

Brown competed in four events and scored in three as a freshman — including a second place finish in the triple jump with a mark of 11.89 meters. She also scored 60 meter dash and the long jump, while slightly missing out on scoring in the high jump.

The Elgin, S.C. native racked up three all-freshman honors from the conference for her scoring efforts in the three aforementioned events.

Brown is only ETSU's second winner of the Female Freshman of the Year award since its conception in 1992, with the other being Kyra Atkins in 2016. The award also marks ETSU’s second straight freshman of the year award on either side, with Karon Delince (Phenix City, Ala.) winning the men’s version of the award in 2018.


Male Most Outstanding Track Performer

Ryan Adams, Furman


Female Most Outstanding Track Performers

Karisa Nelson, Samford

McLeod Dean, Wofford


Male Most Outstanding Field Performer

Ben Johnson, ETSU


Female Most Outstanding Field Performer

Selena Popp, Samford


Male Freshman of the Year

Trini Feggett, Western Carolina


Female Freshman of the Year

Mekayla Brown, ETSU


Men’s Coach of the Year

Jesse Norman, Western Carolina


Women’s Coach of the Year

Rod Tiffin, Samford


ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today.

For more information on ETSU track and field, visit and click on the track and field pages. Also, follow the program on Twitter @ETSU_TF_XC and on Instagram at the handle @etsuxctf.