ETSU to host 2006 and 2007 Atlantic Sun Conference Men's Basketball Tournaments
A-Sun logo
A-Sun logo

Tuesday, March 22, 2005

                JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (March 22, 2005) - In a joint press conference Tuesday at the Carnegie Hotel, the East Tennessee State University Department of Intercollegiate Athletics and the Atlantic Sun Conference announced that the Buccaneers will host the 2006 and 2007 A-Sun Conference Men's Basketball Tournaments inside Memorial Center on the ETSU campus.


            "This is an exciting way for our players, coaches and fans to start our new membership in the Atlantic Sun Conference," said ETSU Director of Intercollegiate Athletics Dave Mullins. "Having the A-Sun tournament in Johnson City gives our fans the opportunity to learn more about the other teams in our new conference, while allowing visiting fans a chance to see what ETSU brings to the A-Sun. We are encouraged by the support we've already received from the City Commission, the Chamber of Commerce, and the local media, and we believe the people of the Tri-Cities will work with us to make this tournament a premier event."


            According to A-Sun Commissioner Bill Bibb, the fantastic local support for ETSU basketball makes this an exciting opportunity for all A-Sun member programs.


            "We are extremely pleased and excited to bring the league's premier event to East Tennessee State University and to Johnson City and the Tri-Cities area," Bibb said. "We know that the community shows great support for ETSU basketball and we look forward in sharing our championship with them. With the combination of leadership and support of the community, the university and the Buccaneer athletic department, we have all of the ingredients for one of our most successful tournaments ever."


            The 2006 A-Sun Tournament will be held March 2-4, with quarterfinals scheduled for Thursday, March 2, semifinals on Friday, March 3, and the championships game on Saturday, March 4. The top eight of 11 teams in the A-Sun are eligible for the tournament and the winner receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. Members of the A-Sun in 2005-06 will include ETSU, Florida Atlantic University, Stetson University, Jacksonville University, the University of North Florida, Mercer University, Lipscomb University, Belmont University, Kennessaw State University, Gardner-Webb University, Campbell University.


            The 2006 A-Sun Men's Basketball Championship will mark the 27th year that the league will host the championship. For more information on next year's championship, please visit or contact Assistant Athletic Director for Media Relations Michael White at 423.439.4220 or by e-mail at