Women's soccer slated to finish fifth in SoCon preseason poll

Tuesday, August 24, 2004

SPARTANBURG, S.C. (August 24, 2004) - The Southern Conference women's soccer coaches have announced the women's soccer preseason poll today, as selected by the conference's head coaches. The coaches also selected 13 players to the preseason all-league team, including 10 all-conference picks from 2003. East Tennessee State was marked to finish fifth in the preseason poll receiving a total of 72 votes. The fifth place preseason ranking is the highest preseason ranking that the ETSU women's soccer team has reached to date. It comes after their impressive 12-6 overall, 7-4 SoCon finish in 2003. "Last year was a great step for our program, and I think having our best-ever preseason ranking is another example of our hard work paying off," said ETSU head coach Heather Henson. "But you have to put preseason rankings in perspective. Our team has to continue to prepare, and we need to realize that there is a lot out there for us to accomplish." The Paladins, the reigning SoCon regular season champions, received 10 of the 12 available first place votes, as coaches are not allowed to vote for their own team or players. UNC Greensboro, the defending tournament champion, received two first place votes and came in second in the overall poll. College of Charleston was selected third with Chattanooga at fourth. The ETSU women's soccer season kicks off this Sunday, August 29 when the Bucs host the Winthrop Eagles at 3:00 p.m. at Liberty Bell Field. 2004 Women's Soccer Preseason Poll 1. Furman (10) 120 2. UNC Greensboro (2) 112 3. College of Charleston 99 4. Chattanooga 87 5. East Tennessee State 72 6. Western Carolina 62 7. Appalachian State 59 8. Davidson 54 9. Wofford 43 10. Georgia Southern 40 11. Elon 29 12. The Citadel 15 2004 Women's Soccer Preseason All-League Team GK- Andie Hinshaw, Furman D- Sydney Strong, College of Charleston D- April Raymer, Furman D- Andre'a Morrison, Furman MF- Kara Koehrn, Davidson MF- Elfa Erlingsdottir, Chattanooga MF- Kat Kelly, Furman MF- Rakel Logadottir, UNC Greensboro F- Kristin Ryhne, College of Charleston F- Diana Jallo, Chattanooga F- Cara Hammond, UNC Greensboro F- Amy Carnell, UNC Greensboro F- Stephanie Svoboda, Western Carolina