ETSUBucs.com
ETSU men's hoops releases 2007-08 schedule
Atlantic Sun Conference Player of the Year Courtney Pigram returns for his junior season in 2007-08.
Atlantic Sun Conference Player of the Year Courtney Pigram returns for his junior season in 2007-08.

Wednesday, July 25, 2007

Quality non-conference foes, Bracket Buster game, and trip to Rainbow Classic highlight slate

 

  

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (July 25, 2007) - Road trips to Big East Conference power Syracuse and Atlantic 10 stalwart Dayton, a second trip in five years to the Rainbow Classic in Hawaii, rekindled rivalries with former Southern Conference foes Appalachian State, Chattanooga and Marshall, another appearance as part of ESPN's Bracket Busters, and 15 home games highlight the 2007-08 men's basketball schedule announced by ETSU head coach Murry Bartow.

 

ETSU will play two exhibition contests, a 16-game conference schedule, and 13 non-conference opponents during the regular season, with the Atlantic Sun Conference Tournament scheduled for March 5-8 in Nashville. Among the non-conference foes will be Syracuse, Dayton, Eastern Kentucky, Marshall, UNC Asheville, Chattanooga and Appalachian State, and the Bucs will play an opponent yet to be determined for the ESPN Bracket Buster home showdown on Saturday, Feb. 23.

 

"This schedule presents our team with some chances to play high major teams, and it will be a challenge from the very first week of the season," Bartow said. "Getting to play in the Rainbow Classic is always exciting for our program's players and coaches, and both our conference and non-conference schedule will be tough."

 

The Bucs' will face their longest road trip of the season beginning with the Syracuse game on Dec. 15, after which they will fly directly to Oahu for the Rainbow Classic, playing there Dec. 19-22. ETSU will play an unconventional home-and-home series with Conference USA member Marshall beginning with a road contest on Nov. 22 followed by the home game on Dec. 4. The Bucs will also face Chattanooga on the road inside the Roundhouse on Nov. 28 and will host Appalachian State on Dec. 30.

 

As for the conference schedule, the Bucs will play in the North Division of the A-Sun, facing off with divisional rivals twice during the season, and meeting South Division foes only once. ETSU will be placed in the same division with Lipscomb, Belmont, Campbell, Gardner-Webb and newcomer USC Upstate.

 

For ticket information fans can visit ETSUBucs.com and click on the ticket logo.

 

 

 

November
Saturday, Nov. 3 Mars Hill (exhibition) 4 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 10 at Dayton TBA
Tuesday, Nov. 13 Milligan College (exhibition) 7 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 17 Eastern Kentucky 4 p.m.
Tuesday, Nov. 20 at Marshall TBA
Saturday, Nov. 24 at UNC Asheville TBA
Wednesday, Nov. 28 at Chattanooga TBA
Friday, Nov. 30 Tennessee Wesleyan 7 p.m.
December
Tuesday, Dec. 4 Marshall 7 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 15 at Syracuse TBA
Dec. 19-22 at Rainbow Classic TBA
(Bucs will play three games in Hawaii)
Sunday, Dec. 30 Appalachian State 2 p.m.
January
Saturday, Jan. 5 USC Upstate 4 p.m.
Thursday, Jan. 10 Campbell * 7 p.m.
Saturday, Jan. 12 Gardner-Webb * 4 p.m.
Thursday, Jan. 17 at Belmont * TBA
Saturday, Jan. 19 at Lipscomb * TBA
Friday, Jan. 25 at Jacksonville * TBA
Sunday, Jan. 27 North Florida * 2 p.m.
February
Friday, Feb. 1 Mercer * 7 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 3 Kennesaw State * 2 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 8 at Florida Gulf Coast * TBA
Sunday, Feb. 10 at Stetson * TBA
Thursday, Feb. 14 Belmont * 7 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 16 Lipscomb * 4 p.m.
Thursday, Feb. 21 at Gardner-Webb * 4 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 23 ESPN Bracket Busters (TBA) TBA
Monday, Feb. 25 at Campbell 8 p.m.
March
Saturday, March 1 at USC Upstate * TBA
March 5-8 Atlantic Sun Conference Tournament (in Nashville) TBA