SoCon media honor several ETSU hoopsters; Wadood, Bartow again earn top awards
ETSU head coach Murry Bartow was named Coach of the Year by both the coaches and the media.
ETSU head coach Murry Bartow was named Coach of the Year by both the coaches and the media.

Tuesday, March 02, 2004

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (March 2, 2004) - One day after sweeping through the coaches' All-Southern Conference voting, the East Tennessee State men's basketball team collected even more hardware from the league's media on Tuesday.

The Southern Conference Sports Media Association on Tuesday named ETSU senior forward Zakee Wadood (Lonoke, Ark.) as the 2003-04 Player of the Year, while head coach Murry Bartow was selected as the league's Coach of the Year. In addition, ETSU sophomore Tim Smith (Newport News, Va.) finished third in the voting for player of the year and was a first-team selection, while senior Jerald Fields (Gainesville, Fla.) was named to the second team.

"Again, it's great to see those three guys recognized for the seasons they've had," Bartow said. "It's been a fun year so far and we're looking forward to the conference tournament. This has been a great group of guys to coach and these awards are an indication of the tradition we're building here at East Tennessee State."

Wadood has helped lead East Tennessee State to a 24-5 overall record, its fourth-straight SoCon North Division title, and the overall SoCon regular season championship. The 6-6, 210-pound senior is averaging 14.8 points per game and is leading the SoCon with 7.8 rebounds and 2.83 steals per game. Meanwhile, Smith currently leads the Bucs with 16.5 ppg and 4.4 apg, while Fields is second on the team with 6.4 rpg and third with 13.2 ppg.

Bartow, in his first year as the head coach at East Tennessee State, earned Coach of the Year honors after guiding the Bucs to a program-record 15-1 league mark and a program-best 16-game winning streak from Jan. 4 until Feb. 28.

The Bucs will be the No. 1 seed out of the SoCon North Division in the Southern Conference Basketball Championship, which begins on Wednesday at the North Charleston (SC) Coliseum. Head Shot

The Buccaneers will open play at the SoCon Tournament Thursday at noon when they face the winner of Wednesday's first-round game between Furman and Western Carolina.

See attached page for complete run down of the 2003-04 All-SCSMA team.

All-SCSMA Team
First team

Zakee Wadood, ETSU
Kevin Martin, Western Carolina
Tim Smith, ETSU
Ashley Champion, Chattanooga
Brendan Winters, Davidson Head Shot

Second team
Thomas Mobley, CofC
Frank Bennett, GSU
Jackson Atoyebi, Elon
Maleye ndoye, FUR
Jerald Fields, ETSU

Third team
Jay Joseph, UNCG
Ronnie Burrell, UNCG
Howard Wilkerson, Wofford
Terry Williams, GSU
Tony Mitchell, CofC Head Shot

Player of the Year
Zakee Wadood, ETSU

Coach of the Year
Murry Bartow, ETSU

Freshman of the year
Quan Prowell, Furman

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MGOLF Puerto Rico Classic San Juan, Puerto Rico
Feb 23 Results
WBB ETSU 46 Final
Feb 23 Samford University 69
MGOLF Puerto Rico Classic San Juan, Puerto Rico
Feb 24 T11 of 15
Feb 26 Citadel 74
WTRACK Southern Conference Championships Birmingham, Ala.
Feb 27 Results
MTEN Tennessee Tech 0 Bristol, Tenn.
Feb 27 ETSU 7
WTEN ETSU 6 Akron, Ohio
Feb 28 Akron 1
WTRACK Southern Conference Championships Birmingham, Ala.
Feb 28 3 of 9
BB Butler 1 Johnson City, Tenn.
Feb 28 ETSU 4
WBB ETSU 42 Final
Feb 28 University of Tennessee at Chattanooga 64
SB ETSU 10 5
Feb 28 Morehead St. 1
SB ETSU 5 Savannah, Ga.
Feb 28 UMBC 7
Feb 28 Mercer 69
BB Butler 9 Johnson City, Tenn.
Feb 28 ETSU 3
BB Butler 6 Johnson City, Tenn.
Mar 1 ETSU 12
BB Radford 1 Johnson City, Tenn.
Mar 3 ETSU 9
WTEN ETSU 3 Rock Hill, S.C.
Mar 4 Winthrop 4
BB ETSU 6 Asheville, N.C.
Mar 4 UNC-Asheville 8