ETSU men's basketball releases 2005-06 schedule
ETSU head coach Murry Bartow and the Bucs will open the 2005-06 season at Tennessee.
ETSU head coach Murry Bartow and the Bucs will open the 2005-06 season at Tennessee.

Friday, June 10, 2005

Tennessee, A-Sun Tournament, 15 home games highlight campaign

 

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (June 10, 2005) - A season-opener at Tennessee, a road meeting with ACC foe Clemson, 15 home games, fan bus trips to Jacksonville and Nashville, and 23 games within driving distance of Johnson City highlight the 2005-06 men's basketball schedule announced Friday by ETSU head coach Murry Bartow.

 

The Buccaneers, who will join the Atlantic Sun Conference on July 1, will play a 20-game conference schedule along with seven non-conference games. In addition, the Bucs could play as many as three more home games when they host the Atlantic Sun Conference Tournament at Memorial Center from March 2-4, 2006. Exhibition games against Milligan College and Mars Hill are also part of the slate.

 

"We really like this schedule and what we were able to do with it," Bartow said. "Obviously, when you look at it, playing Tennessee to start the season is exciting for our team and our fans. We also have a road game with Clemson out of the ACC, and we play at home against some quality non-conference Division I opponents. If you take into account the A-Sun Tournament, there's a possibility that we will play 18 games inside the Dome this year.

 

"It's also important to us that we play local colleges as part of our exhibition schedule. We think having Milligan and Mars Hill come in will create a lot of local interest."

 

            Since joining the A-Sun, a main concern for some fans has been the perception that traveling to road games will be difficult. However, last season the Bucs played 24 of their 27 games within a five-hour drive of Johnson City, and in 2005-06, 23 games will be played within that distance.

 

            Also, the Pirate Club will be planning fan/alumni bus trips to Jacksonville, Fla., (Feb. 3-5) and Nashville (Feb. 24-26) to coincide with ETSU games against A-Sun opponents in those cities. Golf outings, special dinners, other activities and Buc basketball will all come together to make those trips enjoyable.

 

            "We're playing 23 of our 27 games within a reasonable driving distance of Johnson City," Bartow said. "Giving our fans a chance to travel with our team is important to our program."

 

            Also important will be an early season homestand against Marshall and a pair of strong A-Sun programs, Belmont and Lipscomb.

 

"Coming off road games at Tennessee and Radford, that will be a really important stretch to start the season," Bartow said. "You're talking about a Conference USA school and two of the better teams in the A-Sun. We'll need our fans to be here for those games."

 

Season tickets for ETSU men's basketball will go on sale later this summer. At that time, fans will also be given an opportunity to purchase 2006 A-Sun Tournament tickets at a reduced rate. Check ETSUBucs.com for more information throughout the season.

 

 

2005-06 Men's Basketball Schedule

* -- denotes A-Sun game//home games in BOLD

 

November

Thursday, Nov. 10       Mars Hill (exhibition)

Friday, Nov. 18            at Tennessee

Tuesday, Nov. 22        at Radford

Saturday, Nov. 26       Milligan College (exhibition)

Monday, Nov. 28         Marshall

 

December

Thursday, Dec. 1        Belmont *

Saturday, Dec. 3         Lipscomb *

Friday, Dec. 9             at Clemson

Saturday, Dec. 17       at Austin Peay

Wednesday, Dec. 21  Central Michigan

Thursday, Dec. 29      Morehead State

 

January

Wednesday, Jan. 4     Florida Atlantic *

Saturday, Jan. 7          at Campbell *

Monday, Jan. 9            at Gardner-Webb *

Thursday, Jan. 12       at Kennesaw State *

Saturday, Jan. 14        Jacksonville *

Monday, Jan. 16          North Florida *

Thursday, Jan. 19       at Stetson *

Saturday, Jan. 21        at Mercer *

Wednesday, Jan. 25   Kennesaw State *

Saturday, Jan. 28        Stetson *

Monday, Jan. 30          Mercer *

 

February

Friday, Feb. 3              at Jacksonville *

Sunday, Feb. 5            at North Florida *

Thursday, Feb. 9         Campbell *

Saturday, Feb. 11       Gardner-Webb *

Thursday, Feb. 16       at Florida Atlantic *

Friday, Feb. 24            at Lipscomb *

Sunday, Feb. 26          at Belmont *

 

March

March 2-4                    Atlantic Sun Conference Tournament (in Johnson City)

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
WSOC Radford Johnson City, Tenn.
Aug 22, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WSOC ETSU Cookeville, Tenn.
Aug 24, 1:00 p.m. Tennessee Tech
WSOC Appalachian St. Johnson City, Tenn.
Aug 28, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
VB ETSU Charlotte, N.C.
Aug 29, 9:00 a.m. Morgan State University
VB ETSU Charlotte, N.C.
Aug 29, 5:00 p.m. California State University, Sacramento
VB ETSU Charlotte, N.C.
Aug 30, 12:00 p.m. UNC Charlotte
WSOC Campbell Johnson City, Tenn.
Aug 31, 1:00 p.m. ETSU
WSOC South Carolina St. Johnson City. Tenn.
Sep 2, 6:00 p.m. ETSU
VB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Sep 5, 3:00 p.m. The College of William and Mary
VB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Sep 5, 7:00 p.m. George Mason University
WSOC Alabama A&M Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 5, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
VB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Sep 6, 12:00 p.m. University of Maryland
VB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Sep 6, 4:00 p.m. Lehigh University
WSOC ETSU Florence, S.C.
Sep 7, 3:00 p.m. Francis Marion
WSOC ETSU Washington, D.C.
Sep 12, 3:00 p.m. George Washington
VB ETSU Nashville, Tenn.
Sep 12, 5:00 p.m. University of Utah
VB ETSU Nashville, Tenn.
Sep 13, 1:30 p.m. Lipscomb University