ETSU captures second consecutive Bill Bibb Trophy

Monday, May 19, 2008

Bucs best league in All Sports Race, take third straight Jesse C. Fletcher Trophy for best men's program   


MACON, Ga. (May 19, 2008) - Following the conclusion of both the 2008 Atlantic Sun Baseball regular season and the Outdoor Track and Field Championships, the ETSU Buccaneers have compiled enough points to claim their third straight Jesse C. Fletcher Trophy and the second Bill Bibb Trophy in as many years, league officials announced today.


"These honors for our overall program as well as our men's teams are an indication that we continue to build a broad-based program of excellence," said ETSU Director of Intercollegiate Athletics Dave Mullins. "To be recognized as the best program in our league is an honor. We have enjoyed a great deal of success this season, including championships in women's basketball, men's tennis and women's golf, and for the first time in our program history, we have four programs participating in NCAA competition, with men's golf recently reaching the NCAA Championships later this month. For all our student-athletes, coaches and administrators, these two trophies are certainly special awards to attain."


ETSU has collected enough points in the men's all-sports race to be tabbed the recipients of the Jesse C. Fletcher Trophy for the third consecutive season, named in honor of Dr. Jesse C. Fletcher, a founding member of the Atlantic Sun and the conference's first president. The Buccaneers have won one title this season to go along with second place finishes in cross country, indoor track and field and golf to jump to the top of the standings with 160.5 points. ETSU joins UCF, Florida International, Georgia Southern, Georgia State and Northeast Louisiana (now UL Monroe) as three-consecutive-year winners of the Fletcher Trophy.


ETSU's combined first and third place finishes accrued enough points for the Buccaneers to repeat as combined all-sports champions, securing the Bill Bibb trophy with 355.5 points.  The award is named for former commissioner Bill Bibb, who served the Atlantic Sun membership for 17 years; the longest tenured commissioner in A-Sun history.


Points for the all-sports standings are awarded on a descending basis in three-point increments and are established according to the number of teams participating in each sport. In team sports, points are awarded based on a school's regular season finish. In individual sports, such as cross country, golf, and track and field, points are awarded based on their A-Sun Championship standings. In the event of a tie, the two schools split the combined points.


The Sherman Day Trophy, awarded to the school that earns the most women's points throughout the school year, is headed to the state of Florida for the sixth time in the last seven years. The Dolphins earned championships in both indoor and outdoor track, as well as a second place finish in tennis to pick up 84 of their 199.5 points and won the closest all-sports race in 16 years by 1.5 points over Belmont and 4.5 points over defending champion ETSU. The award for the women's all-sport race is named in honor of Dr. Sherman Day, a founding member of the New South Women's Athletic Conference in 1985. Day served as the commissioner of the NSWAC from 1987 until the league merged with the A-Sun in 1991.            

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
WSOC ETSU 2 Spartanburg, S.C.
Aug 21 USC Upstate 0
MSOC Virginia Tech (Ex) 1 Johnson City, Tenn.
Aug 22 ETSU 2
WSOC ETSU 3 Radford, Va.
Aug 24 Radford 1
VB ETSU 0 Blacksburg, Va.
Aug 28 Virginia Tech 3
WSOC Tennessee Tech 0 Johnson City, Tenn.
Aug 28 ETSU 1
MSOC ETSU 1 Clemson, SC
Aug 28 Clemson University 3
VB ETSU 0 Radford, Va.
Aug 29 Washington St. 3
VB ETSU 3 Radford, Va.
Aug 29 LIU Brooklyn 1
WSOC NC State Johnson City, Tenn.
Aug 30, 1:00 p.m. ETSU
MSOC High Point University Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 1, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WSOC Eastern Kentucky Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 2, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
FB Kennesaw State Home
Sep 3, 7:30 p.m. ETSU
VB ETSU Troy, Ala.
Sep 4, 4:00 p.m. Alabama St.
VB ETSU Troy, Ala.
Sep 5, 10:30 a.m. CSU Bakersfield
VB ETSU Troy, Ala.
Sep 5, 3:30 p.m. Troy
Sep 5, 7:00 p.m. Radford University
WSOC Navy Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 6, 1:00 p.m. ETSU
Sep 9, 7:00 p.m. Appalachian State University