A-Sun announces final all-sports standings; Bucs claim Bibb and Fletcher Trophies

Monday, June 06, 2011

MACON, Ga. (June 6, 2011) -
With the completion of the final two Atlantic Sun Conference Championships, the final standings for the Bill Bibb, Jesse C. Fletcher and the Sherman Day Trophy were announced today by the league office. ETSU, who already clinched its fifth-straight all-sports trophy and sixth men's sports trophy in a row, finished with 352.5 points for the combined title and racked up 187.5 points for the men's award.

ETSU's point total in the combined-sports race is the second highest in the five-year history of the Bill Bibb Trophy with the record being set in 2008 by the Buccaneers at 355.5. The Bucs earned regular season titles in men's indoor track and field, men's tennis, and women's tennis in 2010-11.

Kennesaw State finished second for both the Bibb and Fletcher trophies with respective point totals of 315 and 151.5. It marks the second-straight season the Owls finished second for the Bibb Trophy and it is their highest finish in the men's sports race since joining the conference.

Jacksonville's 198 points topped the women's chart for the Dolphins' third Day trophy after previously having won the award in 2008 and 2009.

UNF set program records for finishes in all three trophy chases. The Ospreys' runner-up title for the Day Trophy and third-place finish for the Bibb Trophy set new school highs, while the third-place finish in the men's sports chase tied the previous school record.

Jacksonville and Campbell finished out the top-five for the Bibb Trophy, while the Camels also earned fourth for the Fletcher trophy followed by Belmont. ETSU, Kennesaw State and FGCU rounded out the top five for the Day Trophy.

The Eagles tied for the conference high with three regular-season crowns coming in men's and women's soccer and women's basketball. It marks the third time in program history that FGCU has earned three A-Sun titles. Finishing sixth and seventh in the men's race was Mercer and USC Upstate. The Bears' point total of 121.5 is the highest in school history, while the Spartans claimed the best finish in school history.

Lipscomb improved three spots in the all-sports chase, which tied for the best improvement in the A-Sun, and gained 24 points overall - the second biggest jump. Stetson garnered two conference titles for the fourth time in the past five seasons as the Hatters finished eighth for both the Fletcher and Day trophies.

For more information on ETSU athletics please go to ETSUBucs.com. Also, be sure to follow ETSU Athletics on
Facebook and Twitter.
Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
WBB Appalachian State University 76 Final
Nov 19 ETSU 70
WBB ETSU 79 Final
Nov 21 Saint Francis University 63
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. No. 5 Western Carolina (SoCon Quarterfinal)
MBB UNC Asheville 87 F
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. ETSU 98
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Winthrop 64
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Indiana State University 76
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 26, 12:00 p.m. Indiana University 97
WBB ETSU Blacksburg, Va.
Nov 29, 5:00 p.m. Virginia Tech University
MBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 1, 7:00 p.m. Morehead State
WBB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Dec 3, 5:00 p.m. George Mason University
MBB Western Carolina Freedom Hall
Dec 3, 8:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Huntsville, Ala.
Dec 6, 6:00 p.m. Alabama A&M University
MBB UNC Greensboro Freedom Hall
Dec 13, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB Eastern Kentucky University Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 13, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 15, 12:00 p.m. Morehead State University
MBB ETSU Richmond, Ky.
Dec 16, 7:00 p.m. Eastern Kentucky
WBB ETSU Wilmington, N.C.
Dec 19, 11:30 a.m. University of North Carolina Wilmington
WBB ETSU Wilmington, N.C.
Dec 20, 12:00 p.m. Jacksonville State University