Pratt to participate in 2nd Annual TD AMERITRADE College Home Run Derby

Friday, July 08, 2011


JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (June 23, 2011) – Junior Dylan Pratt (Johnson City, Tenn.) has been selected to be one of eight collegiate baseball sluggers who will compete in the 2nd annual TD AMERITRADE College Home Run Derby at TD AMERITRADE Park Omaha on Saturday, July 2. The event will air nationwide Sunday, July 3 on CBS at 2 p.m.

"This is a wonderful and exciting opportunity for Dylan," said ETSU head coach Tony Skole. "He is very deserving and I know he is excited to go to Omaha and compete against the other top sluggers in the country."

Pratt will look to keep the TD AMERITRADE College Home Run Derby title in Johnson City after Paul Hoilman (Johnson City, Tenn.) won the inaugural event in 2010 at Rosenblatt Stadium.

The collegiate home run hitting competition will feature eight of the nation's premier power hitters facing off in an elimination-style format. Competitors were selected from a pool of eligible players that have ranked among the nation's home run leaders during the 2011 college baseball season.

The 2011 TD AMERITRADE College Home Run Derby will also feature MLB Legends Paul Molitor, Frank Thomas and Joe Carter. Molitor, Thomas and Carter will participate in several events throughout the day and will serve as honorary hitting coaches for Derby participants. ETSU head coach Tony Skole will serve as Pratt’s pitcher for the contest.

Fans are asked to come to One12 Downtown on July 3 at 2 p.m. for the official TD AMERITRADE College Home Run Derby viewing party hosted by the ETSU Athletic Department.

General admission tickets for the 2011 TD AMERITRADE College Home Run Derby will cost $12 and are on sale now. To purchase tickets visit

For more information on Buccaneer baseball, visit or follow the Bucs on Twitter at



Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MBB UNC Greensboro 80 F
Dec 13 ETSU 79
WBB Eastern Kentucky University 49 Final
Dec 13 ETSU 64
WBB ETSU 86 Final
Dec 15 Morehead State University 77
Dec 16 Eastern Kentucky 60
WBB ETSU 48 Final
Dec 19 University of North Carolina Wilmington 61
WBB ETSU Wilmington, N.C.
Dec 20, 12:00 p.m. Jacksonville State University
MBB ETSU Richmond, Va.
Dec 22, 7:00 p.m. VCU
WBB Iona College Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 29, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
MBB ETSU Knoxville, Tenn.
Dec 31, 1:00 p.m. Tennessee
WBB ETSU Chapel Hill, N.C.
Jan 2, 2:00 p.m. University of North Carolina
MBB VMI Freedom Hall
Jan 2, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
MBB ETSU Birmingham, Ala.
Jan 5, 8:00 p.m. Samford
MBB Mercer Freedom Hall
Jan 8, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Greenville, S.C.
Jan 10, 2:00 p.m. Furman University
MBB Chattanooga Freedom Hall
Jan 10, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Spartanburg, S.C.
Jan 12, 11:30 a.m. Wofford College