Men’s soccer earns four All-Conference selections
Geno (above) celebrates an ETSU goal in the Bucs' 2-1 win over FGCU
Geno (above) celebrates an ETSU goal in the Bucs' 2-1 win over FGCU

Monday, November 07, 2011

Schoenfeld, Geno, Fubara, Schroettle make A-Sun All-Conference list

MACON, Ga. (Nov. 7, 2011) – The Atlantic Sun Conference released its 2011 men’s soccer All-Conference awards, on Monday, with senior Aaron Schoenfeld (Knoxville, Tenn.) and sophomore David Geno (Kingsport, Tenn.) selected First Team All-Conference, sophomore Itode Fubara (Ogbema, Nigeria) selected Second Team All-Conference and Simon Schroettle (Rain, Germany) landing on the A-Sun’s All-Freshman Team.

Schoenfeld and Geno’s First Team selections come amid career seasons for each, as both have scored seven goals apiece in 2011 to share the top spot for goals in a single season at ETSU. Schoenfeld also becomes the first Buccaneer to earn back-to-back selections to the A-Sun First Team after earning the same honor in ETSU’s 2010 championship season. This also marks Schoenfeld’s third-consecutive season on the All-Conference list, as he was named to the Second Team in 2009. Geno reached the First Team this season after earning All-Freshman honors in 2010.

Fubara, the 2011 A-Sun Preseason Player of the Year, lands on the Second Team having tallied a team-high four assists and scoring one goal. The sophomore has earned his share of A-Sun honors in his young collegiate career after being named Freshman of the Year, First Team All-Conference and A-Sun Tournament MVP in 2010.

Schroettle, a unanimous selection to the All-Freshman Team, has made an immediate impact in his first season as a Buc. The freshman has helped ETSU to seven shutouts in 2011, including clean sheets against then-No. 20/24 UNC Greensboro, then-No. 14 William and Mary and then-No. 23/25 Furman. Schroettle was just one of two unanimous choices to the squad.

Stetson swept the conference’s top two individual honors, as Jonathan Mendoza and Luis Ocejo were named A-Sun Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively. Florida Gulf Coast earned the other top awards, as Xavier Silva was named Freshman of the Year and Bob Butehorn was tabbed Coach of the Year after leading FGCU to its second-consecutive regular season title.

The A-Sun has also added an Academic All-Conference Team, comprised of the conference’s top performers on the field and in the classroom. To qualify for the Academic All-Conference Team, each student-athlete must attain a GPA of 3.30 or higher and play a significant role on its squad.

Earning ETSU’s first Academic All-Conference selection is Schoenfeld. The senior not only added seven goals and four assists to his career totals, but boasts a 3.36 GPA in management.

Mercer grabbed the top academic honor, as Will Betts was named Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The Bears’ keeper holds a 3.97 GPA in finance.

The Bucs will now look toward the postseason, as they host the 2011 Atlantic Sun Tournament as the No. 6-seeded team. ETSU begins play in the quarterfinals on Wednesday, Nov. 9, as it begins defense of its tournament crown against No. 3 Jacksonville at 7 p.m.

For more information on ETSU men’s soccer, please visit and click on the men’s soccer links.

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
WBB High Point University 76 Final
Nov 17 ETSU 84
MBB Virginia-Wise 66 F
Nov 18 ETSU 111
WBB Appalachian State University 76 Final
Nov 19 ETSU 70
WBB ETSU 79 Final
Nov 21 Saint Francis University 63
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. No. 5 Western Carolina (SoCon Quarterfinal)
MBB UNC Asheville 87 F
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. ETSU 98
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Winthrop 64
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Indiana State University 76
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 26, 12:00 p.m. Indiana University 97
WBB ETSU Blacksburg, Va.
Nov 29, 5:00 p.m. Virginia Tech University
MBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 1, 7:00 p.m. Morehead State
WBB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Dec 3, 5:00 p.m. George Mason University
MBB Western Carolina Freedom Hall
Dec 3, 8:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Huntsville, Ala.
Dec 6, 6:00 p.m. Alabama A&M University
MBB UNC Greensboro Freedom Hall
Dec 13, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB Eastern Kentucky University Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 13, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 15, 12:00 p.m. Morehead State University
MBB ETSU Richmond, Ky.
Dec 16, 7:00 p.m. Eastern Kentucky