ETSU women begin quest for another A-Sun title
Sophomore Gabriella Wahl was the individual champion at last year's A-Sun Championship.
Sophomore Gabriella Wahl was the individual champion at last year's A-Sun Championship.

Sunday, April 14, 2013

JEKYLL ISLAND, Ga. (April 14, 2013) – The ETSU women’s golf team will be aiming for yet another conference title when the 24th Atlantic Sun Conference Championships begin Monday at the Jekyll Island Golf Club’s Pine Lakes Course.

The Buccaneers enter the event as the highest rated A-Sun team in the latest GolfWeek/Golfstat national polls, ranking 58th and 59th respectively. The Bucs have finished no worse than third in the tournament since participating in their first championship in 2006, and claimed the team title in 2008. ETSU has also boasted individual champions in three of the last five events.

Head coach Stefanie Shelton’s team, which is coming off an impressive performance in their last tournament at the Rebel Intercollegiate, leads the A-Sun in team stroke average at 302.6, and have all five of their lineup in the Top-10 individually in stroke average.

Last season’s championship was record-setting, as the previous three-round tournament record score of 881 (Stetson, 2009) was broken by last year’s top three finishers (KSU - 871, ETSU - 875 and Mercer - 880). Along with that bit of history, six team records and five individual records were also matched or broken.

Defending champion Kennesaw State is ranked No 83 by both GolfWeek and Golfstat, and returns all five of its participants from last year’s championship.

KSU senior Ket Preamchuen is the only player in this year's field who has finished in the Top-10 at least twice (2010, 2012). Two-thirds of last year’s individual field returns, including a dozen of the top 15 finishers, as well as individual champion Gabriella Wahl (Heidenheim, Germany) from ETSU. Wahl shot a three-under-par 213 to medal as a freshman and birdied in the second hole of the individual playoff to best Mercer’s Lacey Fears.

The total of 213 posted by Wahl and Fears in last year’s championship is the second-best three-round individual score in tournament history (Alejandra Shaw, Campbell, 212 - 2007). Wahl’s victory in a two-hole playoff in 2012 was only the second playoff in tournament history (2003, Lisbeth Meincke in 4-hole playoff).

Follow the A-Sun Championship live at and check out the A-Sun's championship coverage each day beginning Monday on the Women's Golf Championship page.

For more on ETSU women’s golf as the spring season concludes, visit and click on the women’s golf link.

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
VB ETSU 0 Blacksburg, Va.
Aug 28 Virginia Tech 3
WSOC Tennessee Tech 0 Johnson City, Tenn.
Aug 28 ETSU 1
MSOC ETSU 1 Clemson, SC
Aug 28 Clemson University 3
VB ETSU 0 Radford, Va.
Aug 29 Washington St. 3
VB ETSU 3 Radford, Va.
Aug 29 LIU Brooklyn 1
WSOC NC State 2 Johnson City, Tenn.
Aug 30 ETSU 0
MSOC High Point University 0 Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 1 ETSU 2
WSOC Eastern Kentucky 2 Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 2 ETSU 4
FB Kennesaw State 56 Home
Sep 3 ETSU 16
VB ETSU 3 Troy, Ala.
Sep 4 Alabama St. 1
VB ETSU Troy, Ala.
Sep 5, 10:30 a.m. CSU Bakersfield
VB ETSU Troy, Ala.
Sep 5, 3:30 p.m. Troy
Sep 5, 6:00 p.m. Radford University
WSOC Navy Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 6, 1:00 p.m. ETSU
Sep 9, 7:00 p.m. Appalachian State University
FB Maryville College Home
Sep 10, 7:30 p.m. ETSU
WTEN ETSU Wilmington, N.C.
Sep 11, 7:30 p.m. UNC Wilmington Invite