Doane named semifinalist for Gregg Olson Award

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

OMAHA, Neb. (May 22, 2013) – The semifinalists for the inaugural Gregg Olson Award were named on Wednesday, and ETSU senior right-handed pitcher Kerry Doane (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.) was one of the forty-six players to make the list, which honors college baseball’s “Breakout Player of the Year.”

Doane – who was recently named Atlantic Sun Pitcher of the Year and to the National Pitcher of the Year watch list – is 12-1 with a 2.06 ERA (30 ER/131.0 IP) and leads the NCAA in complete games (11) and innings pitched. Meanwhile, Doane holds a share of the NCAA lead in shutouts with four and his 12 wins are tied for second nationally.

The two-time A-Sun Pitcher of the Week recipient went 7-0 with a 1.43 ERA (11 ER/69.0 IP) in nine home appearances (eight starts) and went 8-1 with a 2.37 ERA (20 ER/76.0 IP) and seven complete games in nine starts against conference foes.

Doane tied the ETSU single-season complete games record, while his four shutouts this season tied Jeff Andrews (1978-81) for the single-season and all-time school marks.

The Buccaneer pitcher was one of four A-Sun players to land on the list as Florida Gulf Coast’s Michael Suchy, North Florida’s Michael Renner, and Stetson’s Austin Perez joined Doane as a semifinalist.

About the Award

The award is named after former Auburn Tiger star pitcher Gregg Olson, who became one of the top collegiate players in the nation after an initial season filled with only mixed success. Olson went on to become a two-time All American, first round draft pick, American League Rookie of the Year and MLB All Star. Like Olson, these players have elevated their game to an elite level and in many instances their team has mirrored their success as a direct result.

Initial nominations were made by sports information/media contacts and the semifinalists were determined by made by an independent panel. A list of finalists is scheduled to be announced on Monday, June 3rd in conjunction with the conclusion of NCAA Regional play. The winner of the 2013 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park from June 15-June 25/26. 2013

ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today!

For more information on Buccaneer baseball, visit and click on the baseball link.


Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
WTRACK Beynon Sports Catamount Classic Cullowhee, N.C.
Apr 11 Results
MTRACK Beynon Sports Catamount Classic Cullowhee, N.C.
Apr 11 Results
MTEN ETSU 7 Chattanooga, Tenn.
Apr 11 Chattanooga 0
BB ETSU 9 Lexington, Va.
Apr 11 Virginia Military 6
WGOLF Southern Conference Championships Savannah, Ga.
Apr 12 6th of 9
WTEN ETSU 5 Greenville, S.C.
Apr 12 Furman 2
BB ETSU 4 Lexington, Va.
Apr 12 Virginia Military 5
MGOLF The Greenbrier Collegiate Invitational White Sulphur Springs, W. Va.
Apr 13 Results
MGOLF The Greenbrier Collegiate Invitational White Sulphur Springs, W. Va.
Apr 14 1st of 13
SB Tennessee 11 Johnson City, Tenn.
Apr 14 ETSU 0
BB Appalachian St. PPD
Apr 14 ETSU
WTEN UNC Greensboro 1 Bristol, Tenn.
Apr 15 ETSU 6
BB Virginia Tech 6 Johnson City, Tenn.
Apr 15 ETSU 5
MTEN The Citadel 0 Johnson City, Tenn.
Apr 17 ETSU 7
SB Furman 2 Johnson City, Tenn.
Apr 17 ETSU 1
SB Furman 7 9
Apr 17 ETSU 6
BB Samford 15 Johnson City, Tenn.
Apr 17 ETSU 4
MTEN Furman 0 Johnson City, Tenn.
Apr 18 ETSU 4
BB Samford 8 Johnson City, Tenn.
Apr 18 ETSU 4