Volleyball announces five-player signing class
Volleyball announces five-player signing class
Tuesday, December 5, 2006

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (Dec. 5, 2006) - Head coach Lindsey Devine announced Tuesday afternoon that five players have signed national letters of intent to play volleyball at ETSU next season.


A four-year letter winner at Wayzata High School, Lauren Baufield (Plymouth, Minn.) is a two-time all-conference selection, and earned All-State and state All-Tournament Team honors in her senior season.  The Trojans 22 wins set a new school record this season, en route to making the second state tournament appearance in Baufield's four years.


"Lauren has the ability to come into this program and be an impact player," said Devine.  "She brings with her a mental toughness coupled with great technical skill. She expects a great deal of herself and will push her teammates out on the court/"


Whitney Cogburn (Kingsport, Tenn.) is a local product out of Sullivan South High School.  In four years her teams compiled a 54-7 mark, and Cogburn earned three consecutive All-Conference, All-District and All-Region awards.  In her senior campaign Cogburn was named AAA Player of the Year and secured a spot on the state tournament All-Tournament team.


"Whitney is the best all-around player in the Tri-Cities," said Devine.  "She has the potential to come in and immediately compete for the setting position.  Offensively, she has a fast, deceptive left-handed swing that will provide an added threat on our front line."


Out of Michigan City, Ind., Britney Loomis notched over 100 victories in her high school career.  A four-year letter winner and two-year team captain, Loomis has earned two consecutive All-Conference honors.  She was named team MVP in her senior season, and also netted a spot on the Indiana North All-Star team.


"Britney is a dynamic player who has played at a high level of volleyball through her club system," said Devine.  "She jumps well and moves across the net smoothly, putting her in position to both swing and block effectively."


Erin Ryan (Davie, Fla.)  has been a three-sport competitor in her career at Western High School.  A four-time letter winner in both volleyball and basketball, Ryan has been named All-County all every season of her high school career.  In her senior season she collected 355 kills, 131 blocks and 120 digs, earning her first appointment to the Broward County All-Star Team.


"Erin will probably be our most athletic player along the nest," said Devine.  "She is a hard worker with a tremendous desire to continue improving her skill set."


Lynchburg, Va. native Laura Waddell rounds out the Lady Bucs class.  A four-year letter winner at E.C. Glass High School, Waddell has twice been named to the All-State team, while earning first-team All-District honors all four years.  She has helped the Hilltoppers to two Western Valley District Championships in her career, and has amassed over 400 kills in each of the past two seasons.


"Laura is an explosive leaper who can out jump her blockers to score," said Devine.  "With her fast, powerful arm swing, Laura will help us shorten points with her ability to terminate rallies.


"I am very excited about all five of our incoming freshmen.  These ladies are athletic players who possess the desire and work ethic to continue building this program."