Three Bucs earn postseason awards; Popovic tabbed Libero and Freshman of the Year
Three Bucs earn postseason awards; Popovic tabbed Libero and Freshman of the Year
Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Clayton and Milhorn were named to the All-SoCon First Team

SPARTANBURG, S.C. (Nov. 14, 2017) – Three Buccaneers earned All-Southern Conference Volleyball Postseason awards as announced by the conference on Tuesday afternoon. Freshman Marija Popovic (Belgrade, Serbia) was named the Libero of the Year and also the Rayna Taylor Freshman of the Year. Leah Clayton (Danville, Va.) and Rylee Milhorn (Kingsport, Tenn.) were named to the All-SoCon First Team.

While earning the Libero and Freshman of the Year awards, Popovic also earned a spot on the All-Freshman Team. She is just the second freshman to be named freshman and libero of the year in the same season. She finished the regular season with 415 digs for an average of 4.77 digs per set. She earned back to back Defensive Player of the Week Awards and was named the Defensive Player of the Month, for the month of October.

Leah Clayton finished the year with 211 kills averaging 3.58 kills per set, putting her sixth in the conference. Clayton had four double-doubles on the year and had two 20-kill matches throughout the season. She had 21 kills and four digs against Western Carolina on Sept. 19.

Rylee Milhorn finished the season with 220 kills, while averaging 3.67 kills per set. This put her fourth in the conference. Milhorn is also ranked second in the SoCon with 60 service aces. After recording 1,000 kills and 1,000 digs in the same season, Milhorn is one of 27 Division I Volleyball Players to achieve such an accomplishment. She finished the year with seven double-doubles and had three matches where she recorded 20 kills or more. She also earned one SoCon Offensive Player of the Week award.

The Bucs finished second in the conference with a 12-4 record. They will play No. 7 Western Carolina on Friday, Nov. 17 at 5:00 p.m. in the SoCon Tournament being held by Western Carolina in Cullowhee, N.C.


2017 All-Southern Conference Volleyball Teams and Awards

Co-Players of the Year – Ashley Muench, UNCG, Sr., OH; Catie Cronister, Wofford, So., OH

Libero of the Year – Marija Popovic, ETSU, Fr.

Rayna Taylor Freshman of the Year – Marija Popovic, ETSU, LIB  

Coach of the Year – Michelle Young, Furman


All-SoCon First Team

Leah Clayton, ETSU, So., OH

Rylee Milhorn, ETSU, Sr., OH

Jamila Johnson, Furman, Jr., OH

Ashley Muench, UNCG, Sr., OH

Allison Penner, UNCG, Jr., S

Catie Cronister, Wofford, So., OH

Colleen Reilly, Wofford, Jr., MB


All-SoCon Second Team

Meg DeMaar, Furman, Sr., L

Nicole Mack, Furman, So., OH

Christen Sikora, Furman, Sr., OH

Paige Alsten, Mercer, Jr., MB

Krista Boesing, Samford, Jr., OH

Ally Ford, Chattanooga, R-So., OH

Katie O’Connor, Western Carolina, Sr., MB


All-Freshman Team

Sharlissa De Jesus, The Citadel, OH

Marija Popovic, ETSU, L

Courtney Hoffman, Furman, MB

Holly Behrends, UNCG, OH

Megan Kaufman, Chattanooga, L

MaKenzie White, Western Carolina, MB

Riley Coonan, Wofford, MB

ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today!

For more information on Buccaneer volleyball visit and click on the volleyball page.