Five members of the ETSU women's golf team receive A-Sun honors
Friday, April 27, 2007

MACON, Ga. (April 27, 2007) - The coaches votes have been tallied and the ETSU women's golf team had a lot to smile about as five of its members grabbed Atlantic Sun postseason honors. Laura Jansone (Jurmala, Latvia), Natalia Giraldo (Cali, Colombia), Lucy Gould (Bargoed, Wales), Sinead O'Sullivan (Galway, Ireland) and Stephanie Reynolds all garnered A-Sun accolades, which was announced by the conference office Friday afternoon. The five honorees by ETSU tied a league best with Campbell.


Freshman Laura Jansone captured three conference honors after an outstanding rookie season. Jansone was named A-Sun Freshman of the Year, first team All-Atlantic Sun and All-Freshman Team. The freshman posted an ETSU school record after firing a 69 in the third round at the Edwin Watts/Palmetto Intercollegiate back in October. Jansone recorded seven top-10 finishes, including her first ever title at the Lady Pirate Invitational. It was ETSU's only individual title earned all season. During the season, the freshman sensation led the Bucs with a stroke average of 75.5.


A pair of Lady Buc golfers earned Second Team All-Atlantic Sun accolades as Natalia Giraldo and Lucy Gould were added to the list. Both golfers enjoyed their best collegiate finishes this season. Giraldo shot an overall score of 222 at the Lady Seahawk Invitational where she was tied for fourth, while Gould placed sixth at the A-Sun Championships earlier this month. This is the second consecutive season where the pair of student-athletes earned all-conference marks.


Joining Jansone on the All-Freshman team was teammate Sinead O'Sullivan. O'Sullivan ranked second on the team with a stroke average of 76.8, and she posted her best finish at the Lady Paladin Invitational, where she came in eighth.


            Head Coach Stephanie Reynolds was named co-Coach of the Year with Campbell's John Crooks. Reynolds helped guide the Lady Bucs to memorable 2006-07 season as they enjoyed more success than in any other season,  including a team championship at the Draper Valley Invitational, six Top 4 team finishes, numerous team records for single round and tournament score, and the program's first individual outright championship. Their No. 59 national ranking for the year was also a program best.


            Campbell's Alejandra Shaw won her second consecutive Player of the Year award, after she defended her individual title at the 2007 A-Sun Championships.