ETSU women’s golf headed to NCAA East Regional;  Wahl named to A-Sun all-academic team
ETSU women’s golf headed to NCAA East Regional; Wahl named to A-Sun all-academic team
Tuesday, April 30, 2013

JOHNSON CITY (April 30, 2013) – The good news just keeps coming for the ETSU women’s golf team.

Late Monday evening, the Buccaneers learned they would be playing in the NCAA East Regional hosted at the Auburn University Club in Auburn, Ala. The tournament will be held May 9-11 at the 6,259-year, par-72 course, and the team will face a challenging field consisting of 24 teams in an effort to earn a spot in the NCAA Championships.

In addition, the team also learned Monday that sophomore Gabriella Wahl (Heidenheim, Germany) has been named to the Atlantic Sun Conference all-academic team.

“This regional field is stacked with perennial powerhouse programs,” said ETSU head coach Stefanie Shelton, whose team earned its spot in the NCAA field by capturing the Atlantic Sun Conference title earlier this month. “We recognize the challenge and the opportunity in front of us, and we look forward to teeing it up next Thursday.

“I believe this team has what it takes to move on if we can step onto the golf course and compete like we have the past few weeks.”

Shelton also had praise for Wahl.

“Gabriella is a model student-athlete,” Shelton said. “She accepts every challenge in the classroom and on the golf course – and excels. She pushes herself to always give her best. It is a privilege coaching such a determined young lady.”

The field for the NCAA East Regional will include the following teams:


  1. East Tennessee State University (Atlantic Sun Conference)
  2. University of Alabama (Southeastern Conference)
  3. University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
  4. University of California, Los Angeles
  5. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  6. University of Virginia
  7. Oklahoma State University (Big 12 Conference)
  8. Tulane University (Conference USA)
  9. University of Texas at Austin
  10. University of Notre Dame (Big East Conference)
  11. Northwestern University (Big Ten Conference)
  12. University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  13. University of Kentucky
  14. Texas State University- San Marcos
  15. Auburn University
  16. University of Central Florida
  17. Pennsylvania State University
  18. East Carolina University
  19. Florida International University (Sun Belt Conference)
  20. University of Mississippi
  21. University of Tennessee, Chattanooga (Southern Conference)
  22. James Madison University (Colonial Athletic Association)
  23. Eastern Kentucky University (Ohio Valley Conference)
  24. Alabama State University (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

 For more on the ETSU women’s golf team throughout the NCAA postseason, visit and click on the women’s golf link.