Atlantic Sun announces additional All-Conference honors
Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Wiles named co-Player of the Year in women's basketball; Masch voted Second Team All-Atlantic Sun for women's soccer


MACON, Ga. (May 12, 2010) - An internal audit conducted on all-conference balloting resulted in the discovery of inconsistencies that have led to All-Conference honors and individual award winners being added in three sports - women's soccer, men's soccer, and women's basketball. Following the re-count, senior guard/forward TaRonda Wiles (Danville, Va.) was named co-Player of the Year with teammate Siarre Evans (Griffin, Ga.) in women's basketball, while sophomore keeper Megan Masch (Virginia Beach, Va.) landed Second Team All-Atlantic Sun honors.


Wiles, the league's leading scorer (17.4ppg), helped guide the Lady Bucs to their third straight A-Sun Tournament championship and NCAA Tournament appearance. Wiles finished her four-year playing career sixth all-time in scoring (1,503), and was also a unanimous First Team All-Atlantic Sun and All-Tournament team selection in 2009-10.


"In my opinion TaRonda and Siarre exemplified Player of the Year talent both on and off the court, so it's an honor both of them received the accolade this season," commented head ETSU women's basketball coach Karen Kemp. "TaRonda is an outstanding scorer and if it wasn't for her big shot made in the conference championship, we wouldn't have made our third straight trip to the NCAA Tournament." 


Women's basketball wasn't the only sport affected in audit of all-conference voting, as ETSU women's soccer learned (Megan) Masch received the second team accolade.


Masch, who started every match for the Bucs during her second season between the pipes, led the A-Sun with 70 saves. The Virginia Beach, Va. native finished third among league keepers with a .833 save percentage and recorded four shutouts in 2009 - including a 1-0 victory over A-Sun champion Kennesaw State back on October 18.


"This is a well deserved honor," said head ETSU women's soccer coach Heather Henson. "We felt that through the season she was one of the top keepers in the conference. It is nice to see her get the recognition she deserves."


The conference completed an exhaustive review of all sports to date this season, reviewed tallies from last season, and determined that the inconsistencies are limited to the three sports referenced. The Atlantic Sun determined from the audit that multiple candidates ended up equally deserving of certain individual awards. For these categories, the conference will have two honorees, with all awards announced in the fall and winter remaining in place, with the following additions recognized.


The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.


For more information on Buccaneer athletic news, visit