Hodgson, Cutshall named to SoCon All-Tournament team
Seniors Isabel Hodgson (left) and Lea Ann Cutshall earned a spot on the SoCon All-Tournament team for 2018 Sunday night
Hodgson, Cutshall named to SoCon All-Tournament team
Sunday, November 4, 2018

Senior defender and goalkeeper represent No. 3 ETSU

MACON, Ga. (Nov. 4, 2018) – ETSU women’s soccer seniors Isabel Hodgson (Adelaide, Australia) and Lea Ann Cutshall (Johnson City, Tenn.) were each named to the 2018 Southern Conference All-Tournament team Sunday evening.

The No. 3 Bucs’ run at a SoCon Championship ended Friday in the semifinal round, as eventual champion UNCG knocked off ETSU 5-1 to advance and defeat Furman, 2-1, for the title and an automatic bid into the NCAA tournament.

Hodgson, a senior from Adelaide, Australia, became ETSU’s all-time leader in career appearances this season with her 77th and 78th games coming in the tournament. She played all but a combined 11 minutes in both games, posing a strong outside presence on the backline. She had one shot on goal.

The nomination is Hodgson’s second of her career, with the first coming in 2016. Hodgson is only the second player in ETSU history to repeat as an all-tournament pick, as Cecilia Re also did so in 2014 and 2016.

Despite a season-high for opponent scoring in the semifinal, Cutshall recorded nine saves in two tournament appearances. The former Science Hill High School standout had one of her four clean sheets this season against No. 6 Mercer in the quarterfinal, shutting out the Bears with four saves.

Also against the Bears, Cutshall tallied her 219th career save to become the all-time program leader in career saves at ETSU, passing former teammate Jasmine Elliot for the record. Cutshall finished her career with 227 saves over her three years as a starter in goal.


SoCon Women’s Soccer Championship All-Tournament Team

Lea Ann Cutshall, ETSU

Isabel Hodgson, ETSU

Leigh Haynes, Samford

Lexi Orman, Samford

Jordan Evens, Furman

Isabella Gutierrez, Furman

Erin O’ Hearn, Furman

Emily Jensen, UNCG

Grace Regal, UNCG

Cienna Rideout, UNCG

Heida Ragney Vidarsdottir, UNCG


Most Outstanding Player

Heida Ragney Vidarsdottir, UNCG


Pinnacle Award (highest cumulative GPA among championship-eligible student-athletes on winning team)

Kaley Tucker, UNCG


ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today!

For more information on Buccaneer women’s soccer visit ETSUBucs.com and click on the women’s soccer tab. Also, like us on Facebook at ETSU Buccaneer Women’s Soccer and follow us on Twitter @ETSUWSoccer and Instagram @etsu_womens_soccer.