Eleven ETSU men's and women's tennis players named as 2005 SoCon All-Conference Selections
The ETSU men's and women's tennis teams at the SoCon Banquet in Charleston, S.C.
The ETSU men's and women's tennis teams at the SoCon Banquet in Charleston, S.C.

Thursday, April 21, 2005

CHARLESTON, S.C. (April. 21, 2005) - The Southern Conference announced today the 2005 Men's and Women's Tennis All-Conference teams as well as the Players of the Year, Coach of the Year, Freshman of the Year and the Sportsmanship Awards. A total of 11 ETSU student-athletes were recognized as voted on by the league's head tennis coaches.

East Tennessee State picked up the men's player and coach of the year. Sophomore Oscar Posada (Valencia, Venezuela) earned the Player of the Year honor with a perfect 10-0 record at No. 1 singles in conference matches, 14-2 overall. He was the 2004 Freshman of the Year and is currently ranked 49th in the ITA national rankings. The Bucs head coach Yaser Zaatini was tabbed the Coach the Year by his peers after leading his team to its third-straight regular season title and eighth since joining the SoCon in 1978.

All six members of ETSU's line-up received accolades as All-Conference Selections. Posada and fellow sophomore Felix Insaurralde (Asunción, Paraguay) were named as First Team All-SoCon singles selections, while the pair of Posada and team captain Fernando Fiuri (Villa Maria, Argentina) was named as a doubles selection. Second Team All-SoCon selections included at singles Fiuri, Lisandro Picardo (Mar del Plata, Argentina) and Luis Sebastian Serrano (Cartagena, Colombia). At doubles the teams of Insaurralde and Picardo along with the brother duo of L. S. Serrano and Moíses Serrano (Cartagena, Colombia) were named to the second team.

On the women's side, two-time SoCon Women's Tennis Player of the Week Sandie Knight (Adamstown, Australia) earned a SoCon First Team All-SoCon singles team selection, while the pair of Sylwia Ziolkowska (Warsaw, Poland) and Masha Ilina (Kyiv, Ukraine) was tabbed as a doubles first team selection. Doubles partners Olya Batsula (Minsk, Belarus) and Gemma Halim (Jakarta, Indonesia) were named as an All-SoCon Second Team doubles selection.

The Southern Conference tennis championships are being held in Charleston, S.C. at the Earle Tennis Center (ETC) on the campus of The Citadel and at the City of Charleston/Farmfield Tennis Center (FTC). Both the ETSU men's and women's tennis teams will begin tournament action tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. The men will face No. 9 seed Appalachian State (ETC), while the women will face No. 5 UNC Greensboro (FTC).

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MBB Virginia-Wise 66 F
Nov 18 ETSU 111
WBB Appalachian State University 76 Final
Nov 19 ETSU 70
WBB ETSU 79 Final
Nov 21 Saint Francis University 63
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. No. 5 Western Carolina (SoCon Quarterfinal)
MBB UNC Asheville 87 F
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. ETSU 98
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Winthrop 64
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Indiana State University 76
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 26, 12:00 p.m. Indiana University 97
WBB ETSU Blacksburg, Va.
Nov 29, 5:00 p.m. Virginia Tech University
MBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 1, 7:00 p.m. Morehead State
WBB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Dec 3, 5:00 p.m. George Mason University
MBB Western Carolina Freedom Hall
Dec 3, 8:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Huntsville, Ala.
Dec 6, 6:00 p.m. Alabama A&M University
MBB UNC Greensboro Freedom Hall
Dec 13, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB Eastern Kentucky University Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 13, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 15, 12:00 p.m. Morehead State University
MBB ETSU Richmond, Ky.
Dec 16, 7:00 p.m. Eastern Kentucky
WBB ETSU Wilmington, N.C.
Dec 19, 11:30 a.m. University of North Carolina Wilmington