Holtzhausen and Kedzo earn A-Sun All-Conference honors
Holtzhausen and Kedzo earn A-Sun All-Conference honors
Wednesday, April 13, 2011
MACON, Ga. (April 12, 2011) - After helping lead the ETSU women's tennis team to its third straight regular season A-Sun title, senior Kelly Holtzhausen (Johannesburg, South Africa) and junior Karina Kedzo (Puerto Ordaz, Venezuela) have earned A-Sun All-Conference honors, the league announced on Tuesday afternoon.
Holtzhausen finished the regular season with 17 wins, including nine wins in dual match play and five victories in A-Sun singles play. In addition, Holtzhausen was steady in doubles as she teamed with Marine Wieliczko (Rouen, France) to go 8-2 during dual play, which included an impressive 8-1 mark in A-Sun play. Holtzhausen also earned A-Sun player of the week honors on Feb. 2 after a solid opening weekend of spring play. She also had a solid fall season after advancing to the quarterfinals in doubles at the USTA/ITA Regional Championships and was named co-champion at the USC Upstate Fall Classic.
Kedzo finished the spring regular season with a 12-6 overall singles record at the No. 4 position, including an impressive 9-1 in the A-Sun. In addition, she teamed with Paula Jaime (Madrid, Spain) to finish the spring with a 13-5 doubles record and a 9-1 A-Sun mark. The duo has won 10 straight doubles matches to close out the regular season. Kedzo also won the doubles title at the Elon Fall Invitational.
With a 10-0 mark at No. 1 singles, Jacksonville's Eve Castaing picked up the 2011 Atlantic Sun Conference Women's Tennis Player of the Year honors making her the second Dolphin to claim the honor (Emese Sulyos; 2004, 2007). Castaing dropped only two matches all season, while earning 19 wins to help the Dolphins return to the A-Sun Championship, which they previously won in 2007 and 2008.

Campbell earned the Freshman and Coach of the Year honors as Karolina Chernaya's 10-0 league record at No. 2 singles gave her the nod, while the Camels' David Johnson received his third A-Sun honor having previously won the Coach of the Year award in 2001 and the men's accolade in 2007.

The 2010 Freshman of the Year, Carolina de los Santos from Stetson joined Chernaya as one of two unanimous selections to the All-Conference First Team after her 8-2 record in A-Sun play at No. 1 Singles. De los Santos' doubles partner Unnati Purushotham accompanied her on the first team as the duo dropped only one match in conference play at No. 1 doubles.
UNF's Aline Berkenbrock, the 2010 Player of the Year, became the conference's 11th three-time all-conference first team selection, while her teammate Danielle Day earned her first first-team honors after picking up a second team nod last season.
Campbell's Lisa Sutton and Kennesaw State's Vera Shkundina capped off the first team by receiving their second career first-team honors with Sutton earning first last season and Shkundina in 2009.
ETSU is the No. 1 seed at this week's Atlantic Sun Tournament in DeLand, Fla. The Bucs will play the winner of the Stetson-Kennesaw State match on Friday in the semifinals at 9 a.m.
For more information on ETSU women's tennis please go to ETSUBucs.com and click on the women's tennis link. Also, be sure to follow ETSU Athletics on Facebook and Twitter.