NCAA Bound Once Again: Lady Bucs win Atlantic Sun Tournament Title
NCAA Bound Once Again: Lady Bucs win Atlantic Sun Tournament Title
Saturday, April 16, 2011
ETSU wins third A-Sun title; Karina Kedzo named Tournament MVP

, Fla. (April 16, 2011) â€" After falling to UNF during the regular season and in last season’s A-Sun Tournament final, the ETSU women’s tennis earned sweet revenge by defeating the Ospreys, 4-0, Saturday afternoon in the Atlantic Sun Tournament Championship at Stetson’s Mandy Stoll Tennis Center.
The Lady Bucs earned their third Atlantic Sun Tournament title and first since 2009. ETSU (17-6) won its eighth consecutive match to earn the A-Sun regular season and tournament title. After a one year hiatus, the Bucs will return to the NCAA Tournament after earning the league’s automatic bid.
"We started firing early as the girls played some incredible doubles at No. 1 and No. 2, and even though it got a little tight at No. 2, we were always in it," said ETSU Director of Tennis Yaser Zaatini, who earned his first A-Sun title as the head of the women's team. "The girls played with a chip on their shoulders and it was good to see that they took in personally today. It appears that the message finally got through that they leave it all out on the court.Today it just felt like everything flourished and it really was a great sight."
The doubles point proved to be the difference when these two teams met during the regular season as UNF took two of the three matches. It was a much different lineup for the Bucs in doubles this time around it was also a much different result as the Bucs won two doubles matches to take the early 1-0 lead.
The ETSU duo of Karina Kedzo (Puerto Ordaz, Venezuela) and Paula Jaime (Madrid, Spain) quickly put the Bucs in front after defeating Aline Berkenbrock and Simona Weymar, 8-3. Kedzo and Jaime may currently be the hottest doubles team in the A-Sun as they have won 12 consecutive matches.
After UNF took an 8-7 lead on court 3, the ETSU duo of Kelly Holtzhausen (Johannesburg, South Africa) and Marine Wieliczko (Rouen, France) closed out Melanie Aguirre and Danielle Day, 8-6, to clinch the doubles point for the Bucs. Holtzhausen and Wieliczko have now won 10 matches during dual play.
ETSU got revenge at the first singles match as Holtzhausen earned an impressive 6-2, 6-1 win over Berkenbrock, at the No. 1 position to put the Bucs up 2-0. Berkenbrock defeated Holtzhausen in straight sets during the regular season. For her efforts, Holtzhausen was named to the A-Sun All-Tournament Team.
Just minutes later, the Bucs extended their lead to 3-0 after Kedzo defeated Aguirre in straight sets, 6-1, 6-4, at the No. 4 position. Kedzo also defeated Aguirre during the regular season in straight sets. Kedzo now moves to 14-6 in dual singles play on the season. After earning Atlantic Sun All-Conference honors on Tuesday, Kedzo earned the A-Sun Tournament MVP award on Saturday following strong doubles and singles play.
Jaime clinched the championship for the Bucs after earning a grueling 6-2, 7-6 victory over Day at the No. 2 position. Jaime earned a quick first set win, but she was certainly tested in set number two. After falling behind 6-5, Jaime rallied to win the next two games to clinch the victory. Jaime joined Holtzhausen and Kedzo on the All-Tournament Team after strong doubles play and a strong effort in singles on Saturday.

"To close it out with four straight points in a final was incredible, and not only that but against a team that had beaten us earlier this year," said Zaatini. "That was pretty key."
ETSU will learn its NCAA Tournament fate during the selection show set for Monday, May 3 at 5 p.m. Fan can watch the announcement on

For more information on ETSU women’s tennis please go to and click on the women’s tennis link. Also, be sure to follow ETSU Athletics on Facebook and Twitter.
ETSU 4, North Florida 0
Apr 16, 2011 at DeLand, Fla. (Mandy Stoll Tennis Center)
Singles competition
1. Kelly Holtzhausen (ETSU) def. Aline Berkenbrock (UNFW) 6-2, 6-1
2. Paula Jaime (ETSU) def. Danielle Day (UNFW) 6-2, 7-6
3. Marine Wieliczko (ETSU) vs. Victoria Krook (UNFW) 6-4, 2-6, 1-1, unfinished
4. Karina Kedzo (ETSU) def. Melanie Aguirre (UNFW) 6-1, 6-4
5. Diana Navrostska (ETSU) vs. Simona Weymar (UNFW) 2-6, 6-2, 3-2, unfinished
6. Andra Voinea (ETSU) vs. Melinda Doak (UNFW) 7-6, 4-2, unfinished
Doubles competition
1. Paula Jaime/Karina Kedzo (ETSU) def. Aline Berkenbrock/Simona Weymar (UNFW) 8-3
2. Kelly Holtzhausen/Marine Wieliczko (ETSU) def. Melanie Aguirre/Danielle Day (UNFW) 8-6
3. Tara Sheets/Andra Voinea (ETSU) vs. Melinda Doak/Victoria Krook (UNFW) 7-8, unfinished
Match Notes
North Florida 15-7
ETSU 15-6
Order of finish: Doubles (1,2); Singles (1,4,2)
2011 Atlantic Sun All-Tournament Team
Carolina de los Santos â€" Stetson
Danielle Day â€" UNF
Victoria Krook â€" UNF
Paula Jaime â€" ETSU
Kelly Holtzhausen â€" ETSU
Tournament MVP
Karina Kedzo â€" ETSU