Women's tennis set to take on No. 4 North Carolina in opening round of the NCAA Tournament
Women's tennis set to take on No. 4 North Carolina in opening round of the NCAA Tournament
Thursday, May 12, 2011

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. (May 12, 2011) -
Three weeks after winning the Atlantic Sun Conference title, the ETSU women's tennis team is set to take on host and No. 4 national seeded North Carolina in the opening round of the NCAA Tournament at the Cone-Kenfield Tennis Center.

The Lady Bucs will be making their third NCAA appearance all-time and first since 2009. Last time out, ETSU defeated UNF 4-0 in the A-Sun Tournament final to earn the automatic berth.

ETSU heads into the match with a 15-6 overall record, while North Carolina comes in with a 23-5 overall mark after winning the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) tournament.

Carolina is making its 13th consecutive appearance in the event and eighth in a row under head coach Brian Kalbas. The Tar Heels have an all-time NCAA record of 21-12 and have advanced beyond the regional round on six occasions, including last season's program-best run to the national semifinals.

Overall, North Carolina, who is currently ranked No. 4 in the country by the ITA, has defeated an impressive 19 nationally ranked teams this season. Joining ETSU and North Carolina in the Chapel Hill Regional are Washington (12-10) and Maryland (13-9). 
Tickets for the event are $5 for the general public and $3 for students. Gates will open one hour prior to play on both Friday and Saturday.
The winner of Friday's UNC-ETSU match will face the winner of the Maryland-Washington match in Saturday's second round. The winner of the second round match, which is set for Saturday at 11 a.m., will advance to the NCAA final site in Stanford, Calif.
For more information on ETSU women's tennis please go to ETSUBucs.com and click on the women's tennis link. Also, be sure to follow ETSU Athletics on Facebook and Twitter.
Friday, May 13
10 a.m. Maryland vs. Washington
1 p.m. East Tennessee State vs. North Carolina

Saturday, May 14
11 a.m. Second Round