Five Bucs earn All-SoCon honors
Five Bucs earn All-SoCon honors
Tuesday, April 19, 2016


Choo highlights honorees with first team nods in singles and doubles

SPARTANBURG, S.C. (April 19, 2016) – Five members of the ETSU women’s tennis team were honored with postseason accolades Tuesday by the league office. The Bucs, who finished the season with a 17-2 overall record and 6-1 mark in conference play, had two players garner first team honors and three others earned spots on the second team.

“It is great that these players are recognized for their great seasons,” said ETSU Head Coach Travis Sandlant. “They deserve it. Our main focus is this weekend and we are excited for it.”

Senior Lyn Yee Choo (Kuching, Malaysia) highlighted the honorees for the Bucs earning spots on the All-SoCon First Team in both singles and doubles. It marked the second consecutive season that Choo has made the conference’s first team in both categories.

Fellow senior Ana Gerbasi (Caracas, Venezuela), who also was named to the first team in doubles with Choo, was one of four Bucs to land a spot on the league’s second team in singles. In addition to Gerbasi, sophomores Ioanna Markesini (Athens, Greece) and Melissa Esguerra (Derrimutt, Austraila) along with freshman Marina Espana (Castellar Del Valles, Spain) also landed spots on the All-SoCon Second Team squad in singles. Espana, who finished the regular season with an unbeaten 17-0 record in singles, was the only Buc to be named the league’s All-Freshman squad.

Next up for the Bucs will be the conference tournament this weekend in Chattanooga. ETSU will be the No. 2 seed and will take on No. 7 seed Mercer in the opening round Friday. First serve is scheduled for 3 p.m.

For the complete conference tournament bracket, click here.

First Team


Lyn Yee Choo, ETSU

Ansley Speaks, Furman

Katarina Weymouth, Furman

Katia Stravroulaki, Mercer

Kayla Jones, Chattanooga

Stacia Kissell, Western Carolina


Lyn Yee Choo/Ana Gerbasi, ETSU
Ansley Speaks/Katarina Weymouth, Furman

Kayla Jones/Kelsey Coots, Chattanooga

Second Team

Singles (by position)

No. 1 – Jessica Northcutt, Samford

No. 2 – Kelsey Coots, Chattanooga

No. 3 – Samantha Caswell, Chattanooga

(tie) – Ioanna Markesini, ETSU

No. 4 – Marina Espana, ETSU

No. 5 – Melissa Esguerra, ETSU

No. 6 – Ana Gerbasi, ETSU

Doubles (by position)

No. 1 – Carita Moolman/Jessica Northcutt, Samford

No. 2 – Blair Martin/Gabby Rodriguez, Furman

No. 3 – Karlee Bryde/Harper Caswell, Furman


Marina Espana, ETSU

Gabby Rodriguez, Furman

Katarina Weymouth, Furman

Sarah Swiderski, UNCG

Savannah Taranto, Western Carolina

Cassidy Hicks, Wofford

Player of the Year

Ansley Speaks, Furman

Freshman of the Year

Katarina Weymouth, Furman

Sportsmanship Award

Amy Ellis, UNCG

Coach of the Year

Adam Herendeen, Furman


  • Stay up to date with ETSU Women's Tennis by following the Bucs on Facebookor on Twitter @ETSU_WTennis.
  • ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click hereto sign up today!