Barker selected to Southern Conference Hall of Fame

Monday, December 19, 2011

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Former East Tennessee State University track and field standout Angie Barker was one of five individuals inducted into the Southern Conference Hall of Fame, announced the league office on Monday.

Joining Barker in the 2012 class are Percy Beard (Auburn), Dick Modzelewski (Maryland), Paul Scarpa (Furman) and Jim Burch (Southern Conference). 

“We look forward to inducting these five talented individuals who contributed so much to the rich history and tradition of the Southern Conference,” said Southern Conference Commissioner John Iamarino. “It is interesting that their SoCon careers span the decades from the 1920s all the way to the 21st century.”

Barker, who competed for the Bucs from 1987-89 and was inducted into the ETSU Hall of Fame in 1997, was a three-time Southern Conference champion in the shot put. She won the indoor title in 1988 and 1989 and captured the outdoor championship in 1989.  Barker was also crowned the 1988 NCAA Indoor Shot Put Champion and was a two-time All-American in the event for the Buccaneers. In addition, Barker was named a Strength and Conditioning All-American, and qualified for the 1988 Olympic Trails. Barker still holds the league record in the indoor shot put with a mark of 54-6.

The 2012 Southern Conference Hall of Fame Induction ceremony will be held Thursday, March 1 at the Diana Wortham Theater in Asheville, N.C., prior to the league’s basketball tournament. It is the fourth year the conference has inducted a class of former athletes, coaches and contributors to the league’s 91-year history. 

Student-athletes who competed for a minimum of two seasons in the Southern Conference were eligible for consideration, along with coaches and administrators who spent at least five years in the league. A pool of over 250 candidates from the conference’s current and former member institutions were nominated for consideration. The pool of former student-athletes, coaches and administrators was cut down to 45 individuals who comprised the final ballot. A voting panel of 20 media members and league administrators made the selection of the induction class.


Percy Beard, Track & Field (Auburn, 1928-1932) – The 1932 NCAA champion in the High Hurdles, Beard captured the Southern Conference low hurdles 220-yard low hurdles in 1928 and later won the 120-yard high hurdles in 1929.  While at Auburn he set a world record of 14.2 seconds in the 120-yard hurdles and later tied the record in 1934.  Beard won the silver medal in the 110-meter hurdles at the 1932 Olympics.  Following his career he later coached from 1937 to 1964 at the University of Florida, where the school’s track is named is his honor.  He was inducted into the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 1981.

Dick Modzelewski, Football (Maryland, 1949-52) – A three-time All-American, Modzelewski was a consensus pick in 1952 and was named the winner of the Outland Trophy, given to the best interior lineman in college football.  He helped the Terrapins post a record of 24-4-1 during his time at Maryland, including a streak of 22-game unbeaten streak.  A second round pick of the Washington Redskins, Modzelewski spent 14 years in the National Football League and never missed a game, playing in 180 straight contests.  He won a title with the New York Giants and Cleveland Browns.  Modzelewski was induced in the Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame in 1992.  The following year he was enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame in 1993.  

Paul Scarpa, Tennis (Furman, 1967-2011) – The longest tenured coach in the Southern Conference in any sport, Paul Scarpa finished his career as the NCAA’s all-time wins leader in men’s tennis with 853 victories, 817 of which came at Furman.  He captured 17 Southern Conference titles and was named the league’s Coach of the Year nine times.  Scarpa’s contributions to the game are felt beyond the SoCon as he developed the current dual match scoring system adopted by the NCAA in 1993, the “3-6” format or “Scarpa System” specifying that all matches begin with doubles play featuring eight-game pro sets with all three doubles teams playing for one team doubles point.  He also invented and patented the tape (Tenex) used to mark clay courts throughout the world.  Scarpa was inducted into Furman’s Hall of Fame in 1994. 

Jim Burch, Special Contributor (Southern Conference, 1967-2011) – Inducted to the conference Hall of Fame as the league’s Special Contributor for 2012, Jim Burch spent 44 years with the Southern Conference.  The first African-American men’s basketball official to work in the SoCon and Atlantic Coast Conference beginning in 1967, Burch spent 21 years as an active official.  He later transitioned to serve as the conference’s Officials Coordinator, a position he held for 23 years until his retirement this past spring.

For more information on Buccaneer track and field, visit

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
WBB Appalachian State University 76 Final
Nov 19 ETSU 70
WBB ETSU 79 Final
Nov 21 Saint Francis University 63
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. No. 5 Western Carolina (SoCon Quarterfinal)
MBB UNC Asheville 87 F
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. ETSU 98
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Winthrop 64
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Indiana State University 76
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 26, 12:00 p.m. Indiana University 97
WBB ETSU Blacksburg, Va.
Nov 29, 5:00 p.m. Virginia Tech University
MBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 1, 7:00 p.m. Morehead State
WBB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Dec 3, 5:00 p.m. George Mason University
MBB Western Carolina Freedom Hall
Dec 3, 8:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Huntsville, Ala.
Dec 6, 6:00 p.m. Alabama A&M University
MBB UNC Greensboro Freedom Hall
Dec 13, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB Eastern Kentucky University Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 13, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 15, 12:00 p.m. Morehead State University
MBB ETSU Richmond, Ky.
Dec 16, 7:00 p.m. Eastern Kentucky
WBB ETSU Wilmington, N.C.
Dec 19, 11:30 a.m. University of North Carolina Wilmington
WBB ETSU Wilmington, N.C.
Dec 20, 12:00 p.m. Jacksonville State University