2018-19 Football
Randy Sanders
Head Coach
Mike Rader, Ed.D.
Offensive Coordinator/Wide Receivers
Billy Taylor
Defensive Coordinator/Inside Linebackers
Ryan Becker
Tight Ends
Steve Brown
Defensive Backs
Daryl Daye
Defensive Line/Special Teams Coordinator
Gary Downs
Running Backs/Recruiting Coordinator
Dylan Lewellyn
Outside Linebackers
Matt McCutchan
Offensive Line
Price Partrick
Quarterbacks/Director of Football Operations
Collins Ukwu
Defensive Ends
Allan Johnson
Strength and Conditioning
Nathan Barger, ATC
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Dallas Dickey
Offensive Quality Control Coach
John Ellis Davis
Defensive Quality Control Coach
Dylan Leffingwell
Graduate Assistant -- Strength and Conditioning
Ben Rabe
Graduate Assistant -- Strength and Conditioning
Daniel Wedding
Graduate Assistant -- Strength and Conditioning
Hunter Parker
Video Coordinator/Operations Graduate Assistant
Full Roster
Daryl Daye

Daryl Daye

Defensive Line/Special Teams Coordinator

Email [email protected]

Daryl Daye spent three seasons on the Buccaneer football staff from 2017-19. After spending time as ETSU’s defensive line coach in 2017, head coach Randy Sanders promoted Daye to Special Teams Coordinator in May 2018 in addition to his defensive line role.

In his three seasons with the Bucs, Daye posted a top three SoCon defense in total defense, including leading the league in 2017 with 345.8 yards per game. The Bucs’ defensive line has registered 651 tackles, 95.5 tackles for loss and 40.5 sacks in three seasons. The 2018 season proved a dominating season on the defensive line and the special teams’ unit, leading the SoCon in defensive touchdowns (3), kick return defense (18.5) and tackles for loss per game (7.7). The Bucs also ranked second in rushing defense (132.3) and total defense (351.2). The 132.3 yards allowed rushing is the fourth-fewest yards allowed on the ground in a single season in ETSU history.

In 2017, ETSU’s defense was one of the tops in the Southern Conference as the Blue and Gold ranked third in total defense (345.8). The Bucs also ranked third in the league in pass defense (172.5) and fourth in pass defense efficiency (131.9). As a unit, the Bucs held the opposition to 10 points or less four times, while holding Robert Morris (three points) and VMI (six points) without a touchdown.

Daye coached the likes of Nasir Player who finished fifth in ETSU history in tackles for loss with 40. Player has been named to six all-conference teams throughout his career and six All-American teams, including three in 2019.

The special teams saw great success under the tenure of Daye as he oversaw the all-time leader in field goals, JJ Jerman. Jerman finished with 53 career field goals and 253 career points. Jerman also holds the record for the most field goals made in a single season in ETSU history with 19 and successfully knocked in 94-of-95 PATs. Most recently in 2019, Daye coached freshman kicker Tyler Keltner who buried 14 field goals on the season, the second-most in a single season in program history.

The return team was strong under Coach Daye’s guidance as well, coaching Domenique Williams who finished third in ETSU history in return yardage with 1,592. Daye also coached Quay Holmes who registered 599 kick return yards in 2019, ranking fifth-most in a single season in program history.

In his time with the Bucs, Daye has coached a total of 18 Southern Conference All-SoCon honorees and seven All-Americans.

Daye brings over 30 years of coaching experience to Johnson City, including head coaching stints at Nicholls State (1999-2003) and Missouri Southern (2012-14), while being an assistant to Buffalo Bills head coach Chan Gailey from 2010-11. Daye began his coaching career in 1986 at LSU, while making stops at Southern Miss (1989-90), Liberty (1991-98), Southern (2004-05), Missouri Southern (2006-09) and was most-recently the defensive coordinator at Northwestern State.

During his head coaching stints, Daye was named 2002 Southland Conference Coach of the Year at Nicholls State – where he had the Colonels in contention for conference titles in 2002 and 2003. Daye’s Nicholls State squad broke 32 offensive school records in 2002, while leading the country in rushing. In 2002, Nicholls State posted seven wins, which ranks fifth most in single-season program history. Daye coached four All-Americans and nine all-conference players during his time at Nicholls State.

At Missouri Southern, Daye turned around a program as he totaled a 17-15 record in three years. Daye directed the 2013 team to a 7-3 mark – the school’s best season in 20 years – including a road win at Division II power, ninth-ranked Pittsburg State. In his first season, Daye doubled the Lions’ win total from the previous year as Missouri Southern went 6-5, marking its first winning season since 2007 and just the third in 20 years. Daye coached 27 all-conference players and three All-Americans at Missouri Southern – including defensive lineman Brandon Williams. Williams broke the school record for career sacks in 2012 and went on to be drafted in the third round of the NFL Draft by the Baltimore Ravens.

Daye has coached under four NFL head coaches: Chan Gailey, Dave Wannstedt, Sam Rutigliano and Bill Ansparger, who was one of the NFL’s top defensive coordinators and LSU’s head coach when Daye came on staff with the Tigers after playing from 1981-85. As assistant to the head coach on Gailey’s Buffalo Bills staff in 2010-11, he helped coordinate operations, while assisting Wannstedt with the linebackers and on special teams. Daye coached for Rutigliano for eight seasons at Liberty.

Daye was part of the coaching staff for the 2011 Senior Bowl in Mobile.

Daye has also worked under head coaches Mike Archer at LSU, Curley Hallman at Southern Mississippi and Pete Richardson at Southern.

As a player and young coach at LSU, Daye was part of teams that played in the 1983 Orange Bowl, 1984 Sugar Bowl, 1985 Liberty Bowl, 1986 Sugar Bowl, 1988 Gator Bowl, 1989 Hall of Fame Bowl and the 1990 All-American Bowl. LSU won the Southeastern Conference championship twice, in 1986 and 1988, while Daye was at his alma mater.  He played for coach Bill Arnsparger at LSU.