Bradford named SoCon Player of the Week
Senior guard Desonta Bradford led the Bucs to three wins last week in SoCon play.
Bradford named SoCon Player of the Week
Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Senior guard averaged 18.3 points, 7.7 rebounds as Bucs remained perfect in SoCon

SPARTANBURG, S.C. (Jan. 30, 2018) – ETSU senior guard Desonta Bradford (Humboldt) has been named the Southern Conference Men’s Basketball Player of the Week for all contests from Jan. 23-29. The award is selected by the league office.

Bradford averaged 18.3 points, 7.7 rebounds and 4.3 assists per game to help the Bucs to a 3-0 week that extended their current winning streak to 13 games, the SoCon’s longest since Davidson won 17 straight in 2012-13.

Bradford opened his week with 15 points, nine assists and six rebounds in ETSU’s 84-75 win over Mercer on Wednesday and followed that up with 17 points, seven rebounds and three assists in the Bucs’ 75-62 victory in a showdown at Wofford on Saturday.

The senior from Humboldt, Tennessee, wrapped up his week with 23 points and 10 rebounds for his third double-double of the season in Monday’s 73-71 win at The Citadel.

For the week, Bradford shot 53.1 percent from the floor (17-for-32) and was 17-for-19 (89.5 percent) from the free-throw line. He had 13 total assists to just five turnovers and added four steals.

ETSU (19-4, 10-0 SoCon), which is No. 5 in the latest Mid-Major Top 25, hosts Samford (8-15, 4-6 SoCon) on Thursday at Freedom Hall Civic Center at 7 p.m.

Other nominees: Zane Najdawi (The Citadel), John Davis III (Furman), Desmond Ringer (Mercer), Francis Alonso (UNCG), Demetrius Denzel-Dyson (Samford), Nat Dixon (Chattanooga), Bubba Parham (VMI), Mike Amius (Western Carolina) and Fletcher Magee (Wofford).

2017-18 Southern Conference Men’s Basketball Players of the Week

Nov. 14    Ria’n Holland, Mercer

Nov. 21    Fletcher Magee, Wofford

Nov. 28    Devin Sibley, Furman

Dec. 5     Francis Alonso, UNCG

Dec. 12    Fletcher Magee, Wofford

Dec. 19    Marvin Smith, UNCG

Jan. 2      Cameron Jackson, Wofford

Jan. 9      Peter Jurkin, ETSU

Jan. 16    Zane Najdawi, The Citadel

Jan. 23    Justin Coleman, Samford

Jan. 30    Desonta Bradford, ETSU