Rotich claims A-Sun ROTW honors for the second time in three weeks
Wednesday, October 3, 2007

MACON, Ga. (Oct. 3, 2007) - Sophomore Kenneth Rotich (Nairobi, Kenya) has enjoyed one of the most stellar ETSU cross country seasons to date in recent history. Over the past three weeks, Rotich has claimed his first-ever collegiate title as well as being named Atlantic Sun Runner of the Week twice, including his latest honor which was announced Wednesday afternoon by the league office.  


Rotich, who holds the fastest 8K time in the A-Sun to date, placed 18th at the Greater Louisville Cross Country Classic on Saturday. The Kenyan speedster led the Buccaneers across the finish line for the second consecutive meet, finishing the 8K course in 24:32, which helped the men's squad to a seventh-place mark. The field contained 310 participants as well as 36 teams, featuring 18 schools that are currently or have been ranked in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA), National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Regional, NCAA Division III National and National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Cross Country Polls this season.


The Nairobi, Kenya native joins some elite company with his two Runner-of-the-Week awards this season. He is the first A-Sun athlete to win multiple Runner-of-the-Week awards since Campbell's Jeremy Helf won a pair in 2005. In the last seven years only seven have won multiple awards in a single season with Belmont's William Kemey pulling off the feat in both 2001 and 2002. Six of the seven have eventually earned All-Conference honors at least twice in their career.


The ETSU cross country team will return to action on Saturday, October 13, when the Bucs run in the Furman Invitational. This meet will be the final test before the Buccaneers look to claim their first Atlantic Sun title on Oct. 27.


The Atlantic Sun Conference announces the Athlete of the Week every Wednesday during the 2007 cross country season.


The Atlantic Sun Conference is a 12-member league committed to Building Winners for Life, with a focus on academic and athletic integrity and a balance between the two for the student-athlete, and maintaining a high level of sportsmanship. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun encompasses six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun consists of some of the most dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Gardner-Webb University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.