Rotich claims Atlantic Sun Runner of the Week honors
Wednesday, September 19, 2007

MACON, Ga. (Sept. 19, 2007) - After claiming his first-ever individual cross country title over the weekend at the Winthrop/Asics Invitational, sophomore Kenneth Rotich (Nairobi, Kenya), was named the Atlantic Sun Runner of the Week, which was announced today by the conference office. This mark the first time an ETSU runner has received the award this season.


In its first week as the No. 2 ranked team in the Atlantic Sun, the ETSU men's cross country team backed up the rating, winning the Winthop/Asics Invitational on Saturday morning at the Winthrop Coliseum and Farm. Rotich, a sophomore from Nairobi, Kenya, led the Bucs with a first-place finish in the Gold Division (all Division I teams). Five Buccaneers finished in the top 10 of the 8K event as they edged out the host, Winthrop, by eight points.


Rotich, a sport management major, did not run in the opening meet of the season, but posted the fastest 8K time in the Atlantic Sun through the first three weeks of the season with his 25:13 mark.


The ETSU cross country team will now have two weeks off before its next competition. The Buccaneers will next race on Saturday, September 29 when they travel to Kentucky for the 6th Annual Greater Louisville Classic.


The Atlantic Sun Conference announces the Athlete of the Week every Wednesday during the 2007 cross country season.


The Atlantic Sun Conference is a 12-member league committed to Building Winners for Life, with a focus on academic and athletic integrity and a balance between the two for the student-athlete, and maintaining a high level of sportsmanship. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun encompasses six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun consists of some of the most dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Gardner-Webb University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.