ETSU men's golf seeded 7th in NCAA East Regional
Wednesday, May 14, 2008

CHATTANOOGA (May 5, 2008) - Just 12 years ago, the ETSU men's golf team made the short trip to Chattanooga and enjoyed a third place finish in the NCAA Championships at the Honors Course. The Buccaneers hope their good fortune in the same Tennessee town continues in 2008.
 The 21st-ranked Bucs, led by the nation's 11th-ranked player and Atlantic Sun Conference individual champion Gareth Shaw (Lisburn, Northern Ireland), have been seeded seventh in the NCAA East Regional field. Teams in the East Regional will compete May 15-17 at the Council Fire Golf Club in Chattanooga. ETSU head coach Fred Warren and his Buccaneers will be looking for a Top 10 finish in the event, which would give the team its record 17th trip to the NCAA Championships

 "Chattanooga is obviously the most convenient regional for us and it's a good location," Warren said. "We won the conference championship (at Council Fire) in 1994 and Garrett Willis won individually in that event. We also won our conference at Chattanooga Golf and Country Club in 2001, and obviously the third place finish at the NCAAs in 1996. That area has been good to us and we look forward to going back."

 Live scoring from the regionals will be available on, and full recaps of the day's play will be accessible each evening at For a full listing of the East Regional field, please see below.

Council Fire Golf Club - Chattanooga, Tennessee
Hosted by University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. Georgia
2. Charlotte (Atlantic 10 Conference)
3. South Carolina
4. Duke
5. Chattanooga (Southern Conference)
6. Auburn
7. East Tennessee State
8. Michigan State (Big Ten Conference)
9. Mississippi
10. UAB (Conference USA)
11. Virginia Tech
12. North Carolina State
13. Mississippi State
14. Georgia State (Colonial Athletic Conference)
15. North Florida (Atlantic Sun Conference)
16. UC Irvine (Big West Conference)
17. Augusta State
18. SMU
19. Middle Tennessee
20. Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)
21. Memphis
22. Virginia
23. Western Carolina
24. Colorado State (Mountain West Conference)
25. New Mexico State (Western Athletic Conference)
26. Western Illinois (The Summit League)
27. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)