ETSU upsets Alabama in opening round of Callaway Match Play
ETSU upsets Alabama in opening round of Callaway Match Play
Sunday, March 20, 2011
The Bucs move on to the winner's bracket to take on 10th-seeded Duke
BALL GROUND, Ga. (Mar. 20, 2011) - The 15th-seeded ETSU men's golf team took three out of the five matches to upset No. 2-seeded Alabama, 3-2, Sunday afternoon in the opening round of the Callaway Collegiate Match Play Championship.
ETSU freshman Lucas Armstrong (Church Hill, Tenn.) got the Bucs off to a strong start after defeating Scott Strohmeyer, 4 and 3. Armstrong never trailed at any point during the match and led for 13 of the 15 holes played.
Just a little while later, sophomore Patrick Spraggs (Rochford, England) knocked off Trey Mullinax, 4 and 2. Just like Armstrong, Spraggs never trailed at any point during the match.
With the Bucs needing just one more win to clinch the match, Alabama picked up a win as Cory Whitsett defeated Spencer Lawson (Raleigh, N.C.), 4 and 2, to cut the ETSU lead. With Bud Cauley taking a late lead against ETSU's Paul O'Kane (Castledawson, Northern Ireland), the match eventually came down to the contest between Devin Komline (Dorset, Vermont) and Hunter Hamrick. Komline was in control for much of the match as he led through the first 11-holes. However, Hamrick bounced back to tie the match up with just five to play. Then, Komline won two out of the next three holes to earn the 2 and 1 victory, and clinch the match for the Bucs.  
The match turned out to be the deciding match because Cauley came from behind to defeat O'Kane, 3 and 1.
The event is comprised of four rounds of match play between teams, similar to the Final Eight of the NCAA Championship. Each team match includes individual matches between each of the five players, and the winner of each individual match scores a point for his team.
Georgia Tech is the host school and is joined by USC, Alabama, Baylor, Duke, ETSU, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Pacific, South Carolina, Texas, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, UCLA and Washington State. Georgia (2005) and UCLA (2007) are past winners of the event while 2010 runner-up USC leads a contingent of five teams (Iowa, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, UCLA) returning from last year's tournament.
Live results of the event will be available at The Bucs and and Blue Devils will meet later on in the afternoon in round two action.

For more information on the ETSU men's golf team please go to and click on the men's golf link. Also, be sure to follow ETSU Athletics on Facebook and Twitter.
Hawks Ridge Golf Club, Ball Ground, Ga.
First-Round Results
ETSU 3, Alabama 2
Bud Cauley (ALA) d. Paul O'Kane (ETSU), 3 and 1
Cory Whitsett (ALA) d. Spencer Lawson (ETSU), 4 and 2
Devin Komline (ETSU) and Hunter Hamrick (ALA), 2 and 1
Patrick Spraggs (ETSU) d. Trey Mullinax (ALA), 4 and 2
Lucas Armstrong (ETSU) d. Scott Strohmeyer, (ALA), 4 and 3