O'Kane and Lawson earn Atlantic Sun golf honors
O'Kane and Lawson earn Atlantic Sun golf honors
Wednesday, May 4, 2011
MACON, Ga. (May 4, 2011) â€" ETSU senior Paul O’Kane (Castledawson, Northern Ireland) and freshman Spencer Lawson (Raleigh, N.C.) earned Atlantic Sun All-Conference honors, the league announced on Wednesday afternoon.
O’Kane closed out his ETSU career with his first A-Sun postseason award as he was named Second-Team All-Conference, while Lawson was a unanimous choice for the All-Freshman team.
O’Kane led the Bucs in stroke average at 73.9, while earning three top-25 finishes during the season. His best finish was a 13th place showing at the Coca-Cola Wofford Invitational, which helped propel the Bucs to the team championship in the event. He also earned Atlantic Sun Player of the Week honors on March 24 after knocking off the nation’s No. 1 ranked player, Patrick Cantlay of UCLA, at the Callaway Collegiate Match Play.
Lawson finished the season in second on the team with a 74.3 stroke average, just behind O’Kane. Lawson led the team with three top-20 finishes, including a 10th place showing at the General Hackler Championship in March. He played his best golf at the end of the year with each of his top-20 finishes coming in his last three events.
Kennesaw State, the 2011 Atlantic Sun Men’s Golf champions, placed a pair of golfers, Jeff Karlsson and Matt Nagy, on the All-Atlantic Sun First Team while their head coach, Jay Moseley, won his first Coach of the Year award.
Both Karlsson and Nagy received unanimous consent from the league’s head coaches. They become the first Kennesaw State golfers to earn A-Sun First-Team honors. Karlsson’s regular season concluded with a three-stroke win at the A-Sun Championship last month at the Chateau Course at Chateau Elan. He also captured wins at the season-opening Sam Hall Intercollegiate and at the Seminole Intercollegiate in March. Nagy’s season featured five top-five finishes and wins at the Rees Jones Collegiate in October and at the Barefoot at the Beach in March.

Like in 2010, UNF again placed two golfers on the All-Atlantic Sun First Team. Kevin Phelan, a member of the First Team a season ago and last year’s Freshman of the Year represented the only member of the 2010 First Team to also make the team in 2011. Junior Kevin Aylwin earned First-Team honors for the first team in his career.

The final First-Team spot went to FGCU senior Daniel Mazziotta. He became the first Eagle to earn All-Atlantic Sun honors following a season that included seven top-10 finishes in 11 tournaments. He won at the Stetson/CFSC Invitational in November and shared the top spot at the Rio Pinar Invitational in March.

Campbell’s Vaita Guillaume and Matt Moot, Stetson’s Sam Ryder and FGCU’s Brandon Pena joined O’Kane on the second-team list. Guillaume scored three top-five finishes and Moot tied for second at the A-Sun Championships. Ryder won at the Mission Inn Spring Fling and added five additional top-six finishes to his junior season.

FGCU’s Matt Cote made additional program history by becoming the first Eagle to receive the A-Sun Freshman of the Year honor. Among A-Sun freshmen, he posted the most the sub-par rounds with seven and opened his career with three straight top-15 finishes.

Kennesaw State’s Jonathan Klotz, Campbell’s Amanjyot Singh and Jacksonville’s Dillon Batsel rounded out the five-man all-freshman team.

The conference will announce the Player of the Year award following the completion of NCAA play.

For more information on ETSU men’s golf please go to ETSUBucs.com and click on the men’s golf link. Also, be sure to follow ETSU Athletics on
Facebook and Twitter.