Men’s Golf heads to Oregon for NCAA Regional
The ETSU men's golf team will be making its 23rd appearance in the NCAA Regional.
Men’s Golf heads to Oregon for NCAA Regional
Monday, May 5, 2014

Regional to be played at the Eugene Country Club May 15-17

EUGENE, Ore. (May 5, 2014) – For the 23rd time in program history, the ETSU men’s golf team will play in the NCAA Regional as the Bucs head to Oregon for the Eugene Regional, which will be played May 15-17 at the Eugene Country Club.

During a live broadcast on The Golf Channel, the Bucs – who are currently ranked 57th in the Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings – learned their destination as ETSU received the No. 10 seed in the regional and are one of three Tennessee schools to make the trek to the Pacific Northwest. Tennessee (No. 8 seed) and Chattanooga (No. 11 seed) are the other two programs from the Volunteer state to join the Blue and Gold in Oregon.

A total of 81 teams make up the six regional sites, with the top five teams from each regional advancing to the finals. The top individual player not to be a member of one of the top five teams will also earn a spot in the championships. The teams will be play 54 holes over a three-day span at each regional site.

Overall, ETSU is making its 23rd NCAA Regional appearance and the 19th under head coach Fred Warren – who last directed the Bucs to the NCAAs in 2010. The Blue and Gold are eyeing their 18th trip to the NCAA Championships, which will be held May 23-28 at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kan., hosted by Wichita State.

ETSU is one of four programs from the Atlantic Sun Conference to appear in the NCAA Regional, while the Bucs will be joined by North Florida (No. 9 seed) in Eugene. Mercer, the A-Sun champion, earned the No. 5 seed in the Raleigh Regional and Kennesaw State is the No. 7 seed in the Auburn Regional.

Live scoring from the NCAA regionals will be available on, and will provide complete coverage following each day's action.

Host: Oregon – Eugene Country Club

() indicates Golfweek/Sagarin Ranking

  1. Stanford – Pac 12 Conference Champion (4)
  2. Houston (10)
  3. Oklahoma (19)
  4. South Carolina (20)
  5. Baylor (26)
  6. Liberty – Big South Conference Champion (35)
  7. Oregon (44)
  8. Tennessee (40)
  9. North Florida (56)
  10. 10.  ETSU (57)
  11. Chattanooga (60)
  12. Wichita State – Missouri Valley Conference Champion (113)
  13. Northern Colorado – Big Sky Conference Champion (137)


1. Cody Blick, San Jose State

2. Kyle Westmoreland, Air Force

3. David Fink, Oregon State

4. Owen Taylor, Sacramento State

5. Byron Meth, Pacific

6. Tyler Torano, Loyola Marymount

7. Cory McElyea, San Francisco

8. Pete Fernandez, California Irvine

9. Alex Franklin, Oregon State

10. Frederick Wedel, Pepperdine

ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today!

For more information on Buccaneer men’s golf, visit and click on the men’s golf page.